1	State of Arkansas
2	95th General Assembly
3	Regular Session, 2025 SR 22
4	
5	By: Senator J. Scott
6	
7	
8	SENATE RESOLUTION
9	TO COMMEND ALPHA KAPPA ALPHA SORORITY, INCORPORATED®,
10	FOR ITS CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE COMMUNITY AND TO
11	DESIGNATE FEBRUARY 25, 2025, AS ALPHA KAPPA ALPHA DAY
12	AT THE STATE CAPITOL.
13	
14	
15	Subtitle
16	TO COMMEND ALPHA KAPPA ALPHA SORORITY,
17	INCORPORATED®, FOR ITS CONTRIBUTIONS TO
18	THE COMMUNITY AND TO DESIGNATE FEBRUARY
19	25, 2025, AS ALPHA KAPPA ALPHA DAY AT
20	THE STATE CAPITOL.
21	
22	WHEREAS, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated®, founded on January
23	15, 1908, on the campus of Howard University in Washington, D.C., was
24	America's first Greek-letter organization for college Black women; and
25	
26	WHEREAS, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated®, was conceived by
27	Ethel Hedgemon Lyle and eight (8) other visionaries who resolved that their
28	college experience should be meaningful and productive; and
29	
30	WHEREAS, that small group grew to a membership of more than three
31	hundred sixty thousand (360,000) college-educated women from around the
32	world, with an active membership of one thousand seventy-four $(1,074)$
33	chapters of over one hundred twenty thousand (120,000) women who represent a
34	diverse group; and
35	
36	<code>WHEREAS</code> , the membership of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated $^{\odot}$



1 includes educators, heads of state, politicians, lawyers, medical 2 professionals, media personalities, decision makers in major corporations, 3 former Vice President of the United States Kamala Harris, Little Rock Nine 4 member the late Thelma Mothershed Wair, and late Congresswoman Sheila Jackson 5 Lee; and 6 7 WHEREAS, well-known honorary members of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, 8 Incorporated®, include Marian Anderson, Maya Angelou, Ella Fitzgerald, Mae 9 Jemison, Coretta Scott King, Judge Constance Baker Motley, former First Lady 10 Hillary Rodham Clinton, and former First Lady Michelle Obama; and 11 12 WHEREAS, local and statewide members of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority,

Incorporated®, include Judge Andree Layton Roaf, former Senator Irma Lee Hunter Brown, former Representative Nancy Blount, former Representative Wilhelmina Lewellen, Senator Jamie Scott, Representative Joy Springer, former Senator Linda Pondexter Chesterfield, and Deputy Director and Assistant Secretary of the Senate Sabrina NeKay E. Lewellen; and

WHEREAS, there are twenty-one (21) chapters of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated®, throughout the state, and each chapter is proud of its community efforts in the areas of education, the arts, economic development, and health care; and

23

18

24 WHEREAS, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated®, responds to the 25 contemporary needs of the Black community with comprehensive nontraditional 26 programs; and

27

WHEREAS, the mission of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated®, "Service to All Mankind", began at its inception, and as a result the sorority has remained at the forefront of positive change in American life; and

32

WHEREAS, during each biennial regular session of the General Assembly, a day is designated as Alpha Kappa Alpha Day at the State Capitol, drawing together Arkansas's constitutional officers, elected officials, and sorority members from across the state, the south central region, and the

2

```
1
     International Office of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated®, to
 2
     encourage participation in the legislative process,
 3
 4
     NOW THEREFORE,
 5
    BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE NINETY-FIFTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE
 6
     STATE OF ARKANSAS:
 7
8
           THAT the Senate commend Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated®, for
 9
     its service work and contributions to the State of Arkansas, the south
     central region of the United States, and internationally, and celebrate
10
11
     February 25, 2025, as Alpha Kappa Alpha Day at the State Capitol.
12
13
     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT upon adoption, a copy of this resolution be
14
     provided by the Secretary of the Senate to Dr. Shawn G. Simmons, the South
15
     Central Regional Director of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated®, Mrs.
16
     DeMetris Sampson, International Connection Committee chairman of Alpha Kappa
17
     Alpha Sorority, Incorporated®, and Mrs. Alexandria Taylor, New Mexico
18
     Connection Committee chairman of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated®.
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
```

SR22