1	State of Arkansas	
2	95th General Assembly A Bill	
3	Regular Session, 2025 SENATE BILL 5	504
4		
5	By: Senator Irvin	
6	By: Representative L. Johnson	
7		
8	For An Act To Be Entitled	
9	AN ACT TO AMEND THE LAW CONCERNING HIGHER EDUCATION;	
10	TO ESTABLISH THE ARKANSAS RURAL PRECEPTORSHIP PROGRAM	
11	ACT; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.	
12		
13		
14	Subtitle	
15	TO ESTABLISH THE ARKANSAS RURAL	
16	PRECEPTORSHIP PROGRAM ACT.	
17		
18	BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:	
19		
20	SECTION 1. Arkansas Code Title 6, Chapter 60, is amended to add an	
21	additional subchapter to read as follows:	
22	<u>Subchapter 16 - Arkansas Rural Preceptorship Program Act</u>	
23		
24	6-60-1601. Title.	
25	This subchapter shall be known as the "Arkansas Rural Preceptorship	
26	Program Act".	
27		
28	6-61-1602. Legislative findings and intent.	
29	(a) The General Assembly finds that there is a shortage of physicians	<u>s</u>
30	practicing within rural areas of the state.	
31	(b) The General Assembly intends to support the creation of the	
32	Arkansas Rural Preceptorship Program, which will:	
33	(1) Combine the resources of public and private organizations;	
34	(2) Introduce medical students to a rural community to let the	
35	medical students experience the benefits of a rural community while raising	<u>a</u>
36	family and practicing medicine;	

1	(3) Use a public-private partnership arrangement to assist rural
2	communities in attracting new physicians to the rural communities; and
3	(4) Provide funding for preceptorship programs in rural
4	communities.
5	
6	6-60-1603. Arkansas Rural Preceptorship Program.
7	(a)(1) The Arkansas Rural Preceptorship Program is established to help
8	provide funding for preceptorship programs in rural communities throughout
9	the state.
10	(2) The program established under subdivision (a)(1) of this
11	section shall provide an opportunity for medical students to be placed in \underline{a}
12	preceptorship at any participating clinic, hospital, federal qualified health
13	center, or other healthcare facility.
14	(b) The following institutions shall be eligible to participate in the
15	program:
16	(1) The University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences;
17	(2) The Arkansas College of Osteopathic Medicine;
18	(3) The New York Institute of Technology College of Osteopathic
19	Medicine at Arkansas State University; and
20	(4) The Alice L. Walton School of Medicine.
21	(c) The Division of Higher Education shall:
22	(1) Administer the program; and
23	(2) Release funding at the per diem rate to a participating
24	institution under subdivision (b) of this section to reimburse the
25	institution for any participating medical student for up to three (3) weeks
26	of placement in the program.
27	(d) Funding for the program under this section may be provided from
28	public or private funds.
29	
30	
31	
32	
33	
34	
35	
36	