1	State of Arkansas
2	95th General Assembly
3	Regular Session, 2025 HR 1039
4	
5	By: Representative Springer
6	
7	
8	HOUSE RESOLUTION
9	TO COMMEND ALPHA KAPPA ALPHA SORORITY, INCORPORATED®,
10	FOR ITS CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE COMMUNITY AND TO
11	DESIGNATE FEBRUARY 25, 2025, AS ALPHA KAPPA ALPHA DAY
12	AT THE STATE CAPITOL.
13	
14	
15	Subtitle
16	TO COMMEND ALPHA KAPPA ALPHA SORORITY,
17	INCORPORATED®, FOR ITS CONTRIBUTIONS TO
18	THE COMMUNITY AND TO DESIGNATE FEBRUARY
19	25, 2025, AS ALPHA KAPPA ALPHA DAY AT
20	THE STATE CAPITOL.
21	
22	WHEREAS, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated®, founded on January
23	15, 1908, on the campus of Howard University in Washington, D.C., was
24	America's first Greek-letter organization for college Black women; and
25	
26	WHEREAS, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated®, was conceived by
27	Ethel Hedgemon Lyle and eight (8) other visionaries who resolved that their
28	college experience should be meaningful and productive; and
29	
30	WHEREAS, that small group grew to a membership of more than three
31	hundred sixty thousand (360,000) college-educated women from around the
32	world, with an active membership of one thousand seventy-four (1,074)
33	chapters of over one hundred twenty thousand (120,000) women who represent a
34	diverse group; and
35	
36	WHEREAS, the membership of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated $^{ m extsf{w}}$



1 includes educators, heads of state, politicians, lawyers, medical 2 professionals, media personalities, decision makers in major corporations, 3 former Vice President of the United States Kamala Harris, Little Rock Nine 4 member the late Thelma Mothershed Wair, and late Congresswoman Sheila Jackson 5 Lee; and 6 7 WHEREAS, well-known honorary members of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, 8 Incorporated®, include Marian Anderson, Maya Angelou, Ella Fitzgerald, Mae 9 Jemison, Coretta Scott King, Judge Constance Baker Motley, former First Lady 10 Hillary Rodham Clinton, and former First Lady Michelle Obama; and 11 12 WHEREAS, local and statewide members of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, 13 Incorporated®, include Judge Andree Layton Roaf, former Senator Irma Lee 14 Hunter Brown, former Representative Nancy Blount, former Representative 15 Wilhelmina Lewellen, Senator Jamie Scott, Representative Joy Springer, former 16 Senator Linda Chesterfield, and Deputy Director for the Senate/Assistant 17 Secretary of the Senate Sabrina Lewellen; and 18 19 WHEREAS, there are twenty-one (21) chapters of Alpha Kappa Alpha 20 Sorority, Incorporated®, throughout the state, and each chapter is proud of 21 its community efforts in the areas of education, the arts, economic 22 development, and health care; and 23 24 WHEREAS, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated®, responds to the 25 contemporary needs of the Black community with comprehensive nontraditional 26 programs; and 27 28 WHEREAS, the mission of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated®, 29 "Service to All Mankind", began at its inception, and as a result the 30 sorority has remained at the forefront of positive change in American life; 31 and 32 33 WHEREAS, during each biennial regular session of the General Assembly, 34 a day is designated as Alpha Kappa Alpha Day at the State Capitol, drawing 35 together Arkansas's constitutional officers, elected officials, and sorority 36 members from across the state, the south central region, and the

2

1	International Office of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated ${ m \$}$, to
2	encourage participation in the legislative process,
3	
4	NOW THEREFORE,
5	BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE NINETY-FIFTH GENERAL
6	ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:
7	
8	THAT the House of Representatives commend Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority,
9	Incorporated®, for its service work and contributions to the State of
10	Arkansas, the south central region of the United States, and internationally,
11	and celebrate February 25, 2025, as Alpha Kappa Alpha Day at the State
12	Capitol.
13	
14	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT upon adoption, a copy of this resolution be
15	provided by the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives to Dr. Shawn G.
16	Simmons, the South Central Regional Director of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority,
17	Incorporated®, Mrs. DeMetris Sampson, International Connection Committee
18	chairman of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated®, and Mrs. Alexandria
19	Taylor, New Mexico Connection Committee chairman of Alpha Kappa Alpha
20	Sorority, Incorporated®.
21	
22	
23	
24	
25	
26	
27	
28	
29	
30	
31	
32	
33	
34	
35	
36	

3