1	State of Arkansas
2	95th General Assembly
3	Regular Session, 2025 HR 1023
4	
5	By: Representative Steimel
6	
7	
8	HOUSE RESOLUTION
9	TO RECOGNIZE THE SALEM FOOTBALL TEAM AS THE CLASS 3A
10	STATE CHAMPIONS.
11	
12	
13	Subtitle
14	TO RECOGNIZE THE SALEM FOOTBALL TEAM AS
15	THE CLASS 3A STATE CHAMPIONS.
16	
17	WHEREAS, the Salem Greyhounds bested the Bismarck Lions to take the
18	Class 3A state football title for the first time, in their first state finals
19	appearance, with a score of 42-34 at War Memorial Stadium in Little Rock,
20	Arkansas, on Friday, December 13, 2024; and
21	
22	WHEREAS, the Greyhounds finished the season with twelve (12) wins and
23	three (3) losses, the most wins in a season in school history; and
24	
25	WHEREAS, the Greyhounds are back-to-back Class 3A-2 conference
26	champions; and
27	INTERESC. The Constraint of th
28	WHEREAS, the Greyhounds' offense averaged thirty-eight and four-tenths
29	(38.4) points per game in the playoffs; and
30 31	WHEREAS, the Greyhounds' defense gave up an average of only seventeen
32	and eight-tenths (17.8) points per game in the playoffs; and
33	and eight-tenths (17.8) points per game in the playoffs; and
34	WHEREAS, the Greyhounds rushed for over four thousand nine hundred
35	(4,900) yards and passed for over one thousand two hundred fifty (1,250)
36	yards during the season; and
50	jarab darring the beabon, and

1	
2	WHEREAS, the Greyhounds were led by All-State players Skyler Payne,
3	Caleb Leisenring, Kaiden Hollis, and Keagan Sanderson; and
4	
5	WHEREAS, Jackson Taylor earned Finals Most Valuable Player honors after
6	going five (5) for five (5) passing for one hundred twenty-nine (129) yards
7	and a touchdown and also rushing for sixty-nine (69) yards and two (2)
8	scores; and
9	
10	WHEREAS, Greyhounds Head Coach Josh Watson was awarded Ozark Radio News
11	Coach of the Year, 2-3A Coach of the Year, Hooten's Arkansas Football/Farm
12	Bureau 3A Coach of the Year, Arkansas Sports Network Coach of the Year, and
13	Arkansas Democrat-Gazette Coach of the Year; and
14	
15	WHEREAS, the Greyhounds were also supported by assistant coaches Billy
16	Webber, Luke Barker, Ben Leisenring, and Seth Brazeal; and
17	
18	WHEREAS, Greyhounds Assistant Coach Billy Webber was nominated for the
19	Broyles Award, which goes to the top high school assistant coach in the State
20	of Arkansas,
21	
22	NOW THEREFORE,
23	BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE NINETY-FIFTH GENERAL
24	ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:
25	
26	THAT the House of Representatives congratulate and recognize the Salem
27	Greyhounds football team as the Class 3A state champions.
28	
29	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT upon adoption of this resolution, a copy be
30	provided to Coach Josh Watson by the Chief Clerk of the House of
31	Representatives.
32	
33	
34	
35	
36	