1	State of Arkansas		
2	95th General Assembly	A Bill	
3	Regular Session, 2025		HOUSE BILL 1597
4			
5	By: Representative Dalby		
6	By: Senator A. Clark		
7			
8		For An Act To Be Entitled	
9	AN ACT TO AMEND THE LAW CONCERNING THE ADMINISTRATION		
10	OF THE OATH	OF OFFICE; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSE	ES.
11			
12			
13		Subtitle	
14	TO AME	ND THE LAW CONCERNING THE	
15	ADMINIS	STRATION OF THE OATH OF OFFICE.	
16			
17	BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:		
18			
19	SECTION 1. Arkansas Code § 21-2-105(a), concerning who may administer		
20	an oath of office, is amended to read as follows:		
21		nor shall take the oath of office	e before:
22	(A) A	in justice or judge of the:	
23		(i) Supreme Court;	
24		(ii) Court of Appeals;	
25		(iii) Circuit court; or	
26		(iv) District court;	
27		The county clerk; or	
28		The clerk of the circuit court.	C . 1 . C
29	(2) The justices of the Supreme Court, judges of the Court of		
30	Appeals, judges of the circuit courts, judges of the district court, Secretary of State, Treasurer of State, and Auditor of State shall take their		
31	•	surer of State, and Auditor of S	state snall take their
32	oaths before:	The Consequence	
33		The Governor;	
34 35	(B) A	in justice or judge of the: (i) Supreme Court;	
36		(ii) Court of Appeals;	
50		(II) Court or Appears,	

1	(iii) Circuit court, including any former circuit or		
2	chancery judge who served for at least four (4) years; or		
3	(iv) District court, including any former municipal		
4	or district judge who served for at least four (4) years;		
5	(C) The clerk of the county court; or		
6	(D) The clerk of the circuit court.		
7	(3) All other officers, both civil and military, shall take		
8	their oaths before:		
9	(A) The Secretary of State or his or her official		
10	designee;		
11	(B) A justice or judge of the:		
12	(i) Supreme Court;		
13	(ii) Court of Appeals;		
14	(iii) Circuit court, including any former circuit or		
15	chancery judge who served for at least four (4) years;		
16	(iv) District court, including any former municipal		
17	or district judge who served for at least four (4) years; or		
18	(v) County court;		
19	(C) The clerk of the county court;		
20	(D) The clerk of the circuit court;		
21	(E) A justice of the peace;		
22	(F) A clerk of a city of the first class; or		
23	(G) A recorder of a city of the second class or		
24	incorporated town.		
25			
26			
27			
28			
29			
30			
31			
32			
33			
34			
35 36			
36			