1	State of Arkansas 84th General Assembly  A Bill	
2		~
3	Regular Session, 2003	SENATE BILL 874
4		
5	By: Senator Salmon	
6		
7		
8	For An Act To Be Entitled	
9	AN ACT TO ESTABLISH JUDICIAL DISTRICTS AND THE	
10	NUMBER OF JUDGES FOR DISTRICT COURTS; AND FOR	
11	OTHER PURPOSES.	
12		
13	Subtitle	
14	AN ACT TO ESTABLISH JUDICIAL DISTRICTS	
15	AND THE NUMBER OF JUDGES FOR DISTRICT	
16	COURTS.	
17		
18		
19	BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF	ARKANSAS:
20		
21	SECTION 1. <u>Definitions.</u>	
22	As used in this subchapter, unless the context otherwise requires:	
23	(1) "Department" means the physical location where sessions of	
24	court are held and;	
25	(2) "Division" means the subject matter d	ivision of the court.
26		
27	SECTION 2. (a) Each of the following counties	shall have one (1)
28	district court and one (1) part time district judge.	
29	(1) Baxter, Boone, Bradley, Calhoun, Clar	k, Cleburne, Cleveland,
30	Columbia, Conway, Cross, Dallas, Drew, Faulkner, Fulto	on, Grant, Greene,
31	Hempstead, Hot Spring, Howard, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Johnson,	
32	Lawrence, Lafayette, Lee, Lincoln, Little River, Madison, Marion, Miller,	
33	Montgomery, Nevada, Newton, Perry, Pike, Poinsett, Polk, Randolph, Scott,	
34	Searcy, Sevier, Sharp, St. Francis, Stone, Union, Van Buren, and Woodruff.	
35	(2) The salary status and grade for these	district judgeships
36	shall be as follows:	

1	(A) Faulkner and Miller Counties — Part time/1;		
2	(B) Clark, Greene, Poinsett, and Union Counties - Part		
3	time/2;		
4	(C) Baxter, Boone, Conway, Hempstead, Hot Spring,		
5	Independence, Lawrence, and St. Francis Counties - Part time/3;		
6	(D) Cleburne, Columbia, Cross, Fulton, Howard, Jackson,		
7	Johnson, Lee, Lincoln, Little River, Perry, Polk, Randolph, Sevier, Sharp,		
8	and Van Buren Counties - Part-time/4;		
9	(E) Bradley, Calhoun, Cleveland, Dallas, Drew, Izard,		
10	<u>Lafayette</u> , <u>Marion</u> , <u>Nevada</u> , <u>Scott</u> , <u>Searcy</u> , <u>and Stone Counties</u> — <u>Part time</u> /5;		
11	<u>and</u>		
12	(F) Grant, Madison, Montgomery, Newton, Pike, and Woodruft		
13	<u>Counties - Part time/6.</u>		
14	(3) The district court shall be located in the county seat town		
15	of each of these counties.		
16	(4) The judge of any district court located in a county with one		
17	(1) district court shall be elected countywide.		
18	(5) If there is only one (1) district court in a county, it		
19	shall have countywide jurisdiction.		
20	(b) Crittenden County shall have the following district courts and		
21	<u>judges:</u>		
22	(1) Marion shall have one (1) district court and one (1) part		
23	time district judge with a salary status and grade of Part time/5; and		
24	(2) West Memphis shall have one (1) district court and (1) one		
25	part time district judge with a salary status and grade of Part-time/3.		
26	(c) The jurisdiction of any district court in Crittenden County shall		
27	be countywide.		
28	(d) The judge of any district court in Crittenden County shall be		
29	elected countywide.		
30			
31			
32			
33			
34			
35			
36			