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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH, ARKANSAS STATE BOARD OF NURSING   

 

SUBJECT:  Chapter Four: Advanced Practice Registered Nurse 

 

DESCRIPTION:  The following is a summary of the proposed changes to Chapter Four 

of the Arkansas State Board of Nursing Rules. 

 

 The license type of Clinical Nurse Specialist was added as required to renew their 

certificate of full independent practice every three years to align with Act 872 of 

2023 was added.   

 The effective date for starting the continuing education requirement was removed 

as it is no longer pertinent.   

 Section VIII(A)(7) was deleted as it is duplicated.   

 The ability of an APRN to prescribe, dispense and supply an opioid antagonist to 

any person authorized by ACA 20-13-1804 was added per Act 586 of 2023.   

 Editorial changes were made.   

 The restrictions on who an APRN can delegate checking the PDMP were 

removed.   

 The APRN shall check the PDMP when prescribing a Schedule II stimulant for 

the first time and every six months afterwards was added.   

 The license type of Clinical Nurse Specialist as qualified to apply for full 

independent practice was added per Act 872 of 2023.   

 Eligibility for full independent practice was clarified per Act 872 of 2023.   

 Requirements for an affidavit for practice hours was clarified per Act 872 of 

2023.   

 The license type of Clinical Nurse Specialist was added per Act 872 of 2023.   

 We corrected the reference to correct section in the chapter.   

 We changed “Expedited” to “automatic” and added education and national 

certification and removed the one-year limitation for veteran application per Act 

137 of 2023. 

 

PUBLIC COMMENT:  A public hearing was held on this rule on August 12, 2024.  The 

public comment period expired on August 19, 2024.  The agency provided the following 

public comment summary: 

 

Commenter’s Name: Leonie DeClerk, APRN, on behalf of the ANPA 

 

COMMENT: The ANPA supports the changes to Chapter 4. She further states that the 

requirement to check the PDMP will increase patient safety.  RESPONSE:  Mrs. 

Tedford stated she appreciates the support. 

 

On August 15, 2024, ASBN received written comments on the proposed changes to 

Chapter 4. The comments were as follows: 

In relation to Chapter Four, the Arkansas Nurse Practitioner Association supports the 

following revisions: 
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 Section VIII, D (p. 4-10). This revision increases public safety by providing 

increased access to opioid antagonists when needed. 

 Section VIII, K (p. 4-12). This revision increases public safety and optimizes use of 

the Arkansas Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP). Stimulants from 

Schedule II, prescribed for conditions such as attention deficit disorder and 

narcolepsy, are the only class of medication tracked by the PDMP that had an 

increase in prescriptions filled in 2022 compared to 2021. Although these 

prescriptions and any dose changes must be initiated by a physician, and a physician 

must evaluate the patient every 6 months, advanced practice registered nurses 

(APRNs) can refill those prescriptions. We believe that this rule change, which 

requires the APRN to review the patient’s PDMP report every 6 months, has the 

potential to improve public safety by detecting persons using multiple prescribers or 

prescription stimulants. 

 Section IX (p. 4-12 & 13). This revision accurately reflects Act 872 of 2023. 

 

RESPONSE:  Mrs. Tedford stated she appreciates the support. 

 

The proposed effective date is pending legislative review and approval. 

 

FINANCIAL IMPACT:  The agency indicated that this rule has no financial impact. 

 

LEGAL AUTHORIZATION:  The Arkansas State Board of Nursing has the power to 

“promulgate whatever rules it deems necessary for the implementation of” Title 17, 

Chapter 87 of the Arkansas Code, regarding nurses.  Ark. Code Ann. § 17-87-203(1)(A).  

This rule implements Acts 137, 586, and 872 of 2023.   

 

Act 137, sponsored by Senator Ricky Hill, amended the Arkansas Occupational 

Licensure of Uniformed Service Members, Veterans, and Spouses Act of 2021, added 

consideration of national certifications toward initial occupational licensure and extended 

the application to spouses and eliminated the one-year limit for veterans to apply service 

education, training, or certifications toward initial occupational licensure.  

 

Act 586, sponsored by Representative Bart Schulz, amended the Naloxone Access Act 

and increased availability and accessibility of an opioid antagonist. 

 

Act 872, sponsored by Senator Kim Hammer, allowed full independent practice authority 

for clinical nurse specialists and authorized experience in another state to qualify for full 

independent practice authority. 
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QUESTIONNAIRE FOR FILING PROPOSED RULES WITH 
THE ARKANSAS LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL 

DEPARTMENT______________________________________________________________________ 
BOARD/COMMISSION_______________________________________________________________ 
BOARD/COMMISSION DIRECTOR____________________________________________________ 
CONTACT PERSON__________________________________________________________________ 
ADDRESS___________________________________________________________________________ 
PHONE NO.____________________  EMAIL_____________________________________________ 
NAME OF PRESENTER(S) AT SUBCOMMITTEE MEETING 
_____________________________________________________________________________________ 
PRESENTER EMAIL(S)_______________________________________________________________ 

INSTRUCTIONS 

In order to file a proposed rule for legislative review and approval, please submit this Legislative 
Questionnaire and Financial Impact Statement, and attach (1) a summary of the rule, describing 
what the rule does, the rule changes being proposed, and the reason for those changes; (2) both a 
markup and clean copy of the rule; and (3) all documents required by the Questionnaire. 

If the rule is being filed for permanent promulgation, please email these items to the attention 
of Rebecca Miller-Rice, miller-ricer@blr.arkansas.gov, for submission to the Administrative 
Rules Subcommittee. 

If the rule is being filed for emergency promulgation, please email these items to the attention of 
Director Marty Garrity, garritym@blr.arkansas.gov, for submission to the Executive 
Subcommittee. 

Please answer each question completely using layman terms. 

************************************************************************************* 
1. What is the official title of this rule?

_______________________________________________________________________________

2. What is the subject of the proposed rule?  _____________________________________________

3. Is this rule being filed under the emergency provisions of the Arkansas Administrative Procedure
Act?  Yes         No

If yes, please attach the statement required by Ark. Code Ann. § 25-15-204(c)(1).

If yes, will this emergency rule be promulgated under the permanent provisions of the Arkansas
Administrative Procedure Act?  Yes            No

mailto:miller-ricer@blr.arkansas.gov
mailto:garritym@blr.arkansas.gov
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5.

Is this rule being filed for permanent promulgation?  Yes  No

If yes, was this rule previously reviewed and approved under the emergency provisions of the 
Arkansas Administrative Procedure Act?  Yes        No

If yes, what was the effective date of the emergency rule? ________________________________ 

On what date does the emergency rule expire?_________________________________________ 

NoIs this rule required to comply with a federal statute, rule, or regulation?  Yes 

If yes, please provide the federal statute, rule, and/or regulation citation.     

6. Is this rule required to comply with a state statute or rule?  Yes No

If yes, please provide the state statute and/or rule citation.

8. Is this a new rule?  Yes  No

Does this repeal an existing rule?  Yes  No
If yes, the proposed repeal should be designated by strikethrough.  If it is being replaced with a
new rule, please attach both the proposed rule to be repealed and the replacement rule.

Is this an amendment to an existing rule?  Yes         No
If yes, all changes should be indicated by strikethrough and underline.  In addition, please be
sure to label the markup copy clearly as the markup.

7. Are two (2) rules being repealed in accord with Executive Order 23-02?    Yes     No 

If yes, please list the rules being repealed.
If no, please explain.
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10. Is the proposed rule the result of any recent legislation by the Arkansas General Assembly?
Yes No

If yes, please provide the year of the act(s) and act number(s).

11. What is the reason for this proposed rule?  Why is it necessary?

9. 
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What is the state law that grants the agency its rulemaking authority for the proposed rule, 
outside of the Arkansas Administrative Procedure Act?  Please provide the specific Arkansas 
Code citation(s), including subsection(s).
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12. Please provide the web address by which the proposed rule can be accessed by the public as
provided in Ark. Code Ann. § 25-19-108(b)(1).

13. Will a public hearing be held on this proposed rule?  Yes        No

If yes, please complete the following:

Date:________________________________________________________________________

Time:________________________________________________________________________

Place:________________________________________________________________________

Please be sure to advise Bureau Staff if this information changes for any reason.

14. On what date does the public comment period expire for the permanent promulgation of the rule?
Please provide the specific date.  ____________________________________________________

15. What is the proposed effective date for this rule?_______________________________________

16. Please attach (1) a copy of the notice required under Ark. Code Ann. § 25-15-204(a)(1) and
(2)proof of the publication of that notice.

17. Please attach proof of filing the rule with the Secretary of State, as required by Ark. Code Ann.
§ 25-15-204(e)(1)(A).

18. Please give the names of persons, groups, or organizations that you anticipate will comment on
these rules.  Please also provide their position (for or against), if known.

19. Is the rule expected to be controversial?  Yes        No 

If yes, please explain.
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FINANCIAL IMPACT STATEMENT 

PLEASE ANSWER ALL QUESTIONS COMPLETELY. 

DEPARTMENT______________________________________________________________________ 
BOARD/COMMISSION_______________________________________________________________ 
PERSON COMPLETING THIS STATEMENT____________________________________________ 
TELEPHONE NO._______________ EMAIL _____________________________________________ 

To comply with Ark. Code Ann. § 25-15-204(e), please complete the Financial Impact Statement and 
email it with the questionnaire, summary, markup and clean copy of the rule, and other documents.  
Please attach additional pages, if necessary. 

TITLE OF THIS RULE________________________________________________________________ 

1. Does this proposed, amended, or repealed rule have a financial impact?
Yes       No

2. Is the rule based on the best reasonably obtainable scientific, technical, economic, or other
evidence and information available concerning the need for, consequences of, and alternatives to
the rule?
Yes            No

3. In consideration of the alternatives to this rule, was this rule determined by the agency to be the
least costly rule considered?  Yes        No

If no, please explain:

(a) how the additional benefits of the more costly rule justify its additional cost;

(b) the reason for adoption of the more costly rule;

(c) whether the reason for adoption of the more costly rule is based on the interests of public
health, safety, or welfare, and if so, how; and

(d) whether the reason for adoption of the more costly rule is within the scope of the agency’s
statutory authority, and if so, how.

4. If the purpose of this rule is to implement a federal rule or regulation, please state the following:

(a) What is the cost to implement the federal rule or regulation?
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Current Fiscal Year Next Fiscal Year 

General Revenue_________________ General Revenue________________  
Federal Funds___________________ Federal Funds___________________ 
Cash Funds_____________________ Cash Funds_____________________ 
Special Revenue_________________ Special Revenue_________________ 
Other (Identify)__________________ Other (Identify)__________________ 

Total__________________________ Total__________________________ 

(b) What is the additional cost of the state rule?

Current Fiscal Year Next Fiscal Year 

General Revenue_________________ General Revenue________________  
Federal Funds___________________ Federal Funds___________________ 
Cash Funds_____________________ Cash Funds_____________________ 
Special Revenue_________________ Special Revenue_________________ 
Other (Identify)__________________ Other (Identify)__________________ 

Total__________________________ Total__________________________ 

5. What is the total estimated cost by fiscal year to any private individual, private entity, or private
business subject to the proposed, amended, or repealed rule?  Please identify those subject to the
rule, and explain how they are affected.
Current Fiscal Year    Next Fiscal Year
$__________________ $_________________

6. What is the total estimated cost by fiscal year to a state, county, or municipal government to
implement this rule?  Is this the cost of the program or grant?  Please explain how the government
is affected.
Current Fiscal Year        Next Fiscal Year
$__________________      $__________________

$0.00 $0.00

$0.00
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7. With respect to the agency’s answers to Questions #5 and #6 above, is there a new or increased
cost or obligation of at least one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) per year to a private
individual, private entity, private business, state government, county government, municipal
government, or to two (2) or more of those entities combined?

Yes          No

If yes, the agency is required by Ark. Code Ann. § 25-15-204(e)(4) to file written findings at the
time of filing the financial impact statement.  The written findings shall be filed simultaneously
with the financial impact statement and shall include, without limitation, the following:

(1) a statement of the rule’s basis and purpose;

(2) the problem the agency seeks to address with the proposed rule, including a statement of
whether a rule is required by statute;

(3) a description of the factual evidence that:
(a) justifies the agency’s need for the proposed rule; and
(b) describes how the benefits of the rule meet the relevant statutory objectives and justify
the rule’s costs;

(4) a list of less costly alternatives to the proposed rule and the reasons why the alternatives do not
adequately address the problem to be solved by the proposed rule;

(5) a list of alternatives to the proposed rule that were suggested as a result of public comment and
the reasons why the alternatives do not adequately address the problem to be solved by the
proposed rule;

(6) a statement of whether existing rules have created or contributed to the problem the agency
seeks to address with the proposed rule and, if existing rules have created or contributed to the
problem, an explanation of why amendment or repeal of the rule creating or contributing to the
problem is not a sufficient response; and

(7) an agency plan for review of the rule no less than every ten (10) years to determine whether,
based upon the evidence, there remains a need for the rule including, without limitation, whether:

(a) the rule is achieving the statutory objectives;
(b) the benefits of the rule continue to justify its costs; and
(c) the rule can be amended or repealed to reduce costs while continuing to achieve the
statutory objectives.
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CHAPTER FOUR     

ADVANCED PRACTICE REGISTERED NURSE 

 

SECTION I 

SCOPE OF PRACTICE 

 
The advanced practice registered nurse shall practice in a manner consistent with the definition of the practice of 

advanced practice registered nursing set forth in Arkansas Code Annotated §17-87-102 (4)(5)(6)(7)(8), and in 

accordance with the scope of practice defined by the appropriate national certifying body and the standards set forth in 

these rules. The advanced practice registered nurse (APRN) may provide health care for which the APRN is 

educationally prepared and for which competence has been attained and maintained. 

 

SECTION II 

QUALIFICATIONS FOR LICENSURE 

 
Advanced practice registered nurse (APRN) licensure shall be designated in one of the four roles below and at least one 

population focus: Family/Individual Across the Lifespan, Adult-Gerontology, Neonatal, Pediatrics, Women’s 

Health/Gender-Related, or Psychiatric/Mental Health (effective 2015).  A current, unencumbered registered nurse license 

to practice in Arkansas is required for all categories of advanced practice licensure.  Effective January 1, 2003, all 

applicants for advanced practice licensure by examination shall have completed a graduate or post-graduate level 

advanced practice registered nursing education program. Applicants for advanced practice licensure by endorsement 

shall have met the educational and certification requirements set forth in Arkansas State Board of Nursing Rules at the 

time of their initial licensure as an advanced practice registered nurse in another jurisdiction. APRN roles and their 

respective qualifications are: 

 

A. CERTIFIED NURSE PRACTITIONER (CNP)   

1. Successful completion of a nationally accredited graduate or post-graduate APRN education program that 

prepares nurses for the advanced practice role of nurse practitioner; and 

2. Hold current certification by a national certifying body recognized by the Board of Nursing in the APRN role 

and population foci appropriate for educational preparation. 

 

B. CERTIFIED REGISTERED NURSE ANESTHETIST (CRNA) 

1. Successful completion of a nationally accredited graduate or post-graduate APRN education program that 

prepares nurses to perform as nurse anesthetists; and 

2. Hold current certification by a national certifying body recognized by the Board of Nursing in the APRN role 

and population foci appropriate for educational preparation. 

 

C. CERTIFIED NURSE MIDWIFE (CNM) 

1. Successful completion of a nationally accredited graduate or post-graduate APRN education program that 

prepares nurses for the advanced practice role of nurse midwife; and 

2. Hold current certification by a national certifying body recognized by the Board of Nursing in the APRN role 

and population foci appropriate for educational preparation. 

 

D. CLINICAL NURSE SPECIALIST (CNS) 

1. Successful completion of a nationally accredited graduate or post-graduate APRN education program that 

prepares nurses for the advanced practice role of clinical nurse specialist which shall include supervised 

clinical practice and classroom instruction in a nursing clinical practice specialty; and 

2. Hold current certification by a national certifying body recognized by the Board of Nursing in the APRN role 

and population foci appropriate for educational preparation. 
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SECTION III 

LICENSURE 

 
A. ELIGIBILITY 

The applicant shall meet the licensure requirements of the Board including a valid United States Social Security Number 

(SSN) or has been issued a Federal Form I-766 U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services-issued Employment 

Authorization Document. 

 

B. APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION 

In addition to a current registered nurse license to practice in Arkansas, the information submitted to the Board shall 

include: 

1. A completed Board application form; 

2. Verification of active practice of nursing as a registered nurse for a minimum of two-thousand (2,000) hours, 

effective July 1, 2019; 

3. An official transcript or document from a nursing education program accredited by a nursing accrediting body 

that is recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education and/or Council for Higher Education Accreditation 

(CHEA), as acceptable by the Board and meets the qualifications of Section II of this Chapter in the category of 

advanced practice nursing for which the applicant is seeking licensure.  The transcript or document shall verify 

the date of graduation, the degree or certificate conferred, clinical hours completed, and the role and population 

focus of the education program; 

4. Evidence of state and federal criminal background checks conducted by the Arkansas State Police and the 

Federal Bureau of Investigation completed no earlier than twelve (12) months prior to the application for 

advanced practice licensure; 

5. Verification of certification directly from the Board-approved national certifying body evidencing current   

certification in good standing; and 

6. Payment of the nonrefundable fee. 

 

C. APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT 

1. The Board may issue a license by endorsement to an APRN licensed under the laws of another state if, in the 

opinion of the Board, the applicant meets the qualifications for licensure in this state.  

2. In addition to the requirements set forth in Section II and III. A. and B. of this Chapter, the information 

 submitted to the Board shall include documentation of current unencumbered advanced practice  

 licensure/authority to practice in another jurisdiction. 

3. An individual applying for licensure by endorsement who has been out of practice for more than two (2) years 

shall provide evidence of passing an APRN nursing refresher course approved by the Board or an extensive 

orientation, which shall include a minimum of 200 hours, in the appropriate advanced practice role and 

population focus which includes a supervised clinical component by a qualified preceptor who meets the 

following requirements: 

a. Holds an active unencumbered APRN or physician license, 

b.   Is in current practice in the advanced role and population focus and 

c.    Functions as a supervisor and teacher and evaluates the individual’s performance in the clinical setting. 

 

D.  APPLICATION FOR AN INTERNATIONALLY EDUCATED APRN (educated outside the United States) 

      An internationally educated applicant for licensure in this state as an APRN shall: 

1. Graduate from a graduate level APRN program equivalent to an APRN educational program in the United 

States accepted by the Board. 

2. Submit an official transcript directly from the international nursing education program and verified through a 

qualified credentials evaluation process for the license being sought. 

3. Meet all other licensure criteria required of applicants educated in the United States, including English 

proficiency. 

 

E.   TEMPORARY PERMITS 

1. Upon application and payment of the required fee, the Board shall issue a nonrenewable temporary permit to 

practice in an advanced practice nursing category to a qualified applicant who has no violations as listed in 

ACA §17-3-102 on the Arkansas State Police criminal background check and: 
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a. Meets the educational requirements set forth in Section II of this Chapter and has been accepted by the 

appropriate certification body to sit for the national certification exam he or she is eligible to take; or 

b. Has a current advanced practice registered nurse license or the equivalent from another jurisdiction and 

has current Board-approved certification in the appropriate advanced practice nursing education 

category. 

2. The temporary permit shall immediately become invalid upon receipt of information obtained from the federal 

criminal background check indicating any offense listed in ACA §17-3-102 or upon notification to the 

applicant or ASBN of failure of the certification examination. 

3. The temporary permit is not renewable and does not apply to prescriptive authority. 

4. In no event shall the permit be valid in excess of six (6) months. 

 

F. RENEWALS 

1. The date for renewal of licensure to practice as an advanced practice registered nurse shall coincide with 

renewal of the applicant's registered nurse license. 

2. An applicant for renewal of an advanced practice registered nurse license shall submit to the Board: 

 a. A completed Board renewal application form; 

b. Documentation of current national certification in the appropriate APRN specialty through a  ongoing 

 maintenance program of a Board approved certifying body;     certification mainte 

c. Documentation of current compact state RN licensure if primary state of residence has                      

enacted the Interstate Nurse Licensure Compact; and  

d. Payment of the nonrefundable renewal fee. 

3.  Advanced practice registered nurses with prescriptive authority, who do not have full practice authority, shall 

submit evidence of a current collaborative practice agreement as a prerequisite to license renewal.  

4.  A Certified Nurse Practitioner  or Clinical Nurse Specialist who has been granted full independent practice 

authority shall apply for renewal of the full independent practice authority certificate every three (3) years. 

5. If disciplinary proceedings have been initiated against an individual with a lapsed, inactive, or retired        

license, the license shall not be renewed until the proceedings have been completed. 

6. Continuing education submitted to the certifying body to meet the qualifications for recertification shall be 

accepted as meeting the statutory requirement for continuing education. 

7. Upon request, an APRN shall submit documentation to the Board of continuing education. 

8. APRNs with prescriptive authority shall complete five (5) contact hours of pharmacotherapeutics continuing 

education in the APRN’s area of certification each biennium prior to license renewal. Effective January 1, 

2017, two (2) of the five (5) hours must contain information related to maintaining professional boundaries 

and the prescribing rules and laws that apply to APRNs in the State of Arkansas. 

9. Pursuant to Act 204 of 2017, upon notification of active-duty status and submission of appropriate 

documentation, the license renewal fee will be waived for members of the military. 

 
HISTORY: Amended January 1, 2018 

Amended: July 1, 2020; June 4, 2021 

 

G. LAPSED APRN LICENSE 

  The license is lapsed if not renewed or placed on inactive status by the expiration date. 

1. The license is lapsed if the RN license or privilege to practice in Arkansas is not current. 

2. The license is lapsed when the national certification upon which licensure was granted expires. 

3. Failure to receive the renewal notice at the last address of record in the Board office shall not relieve the 

licensee of the responsibility for renewing the license by the expiration date. 

4. Any licensee whose license has lapsed shall submit to the Board: 

a. A completed Board renewal application form; 

b. Documentation of current national certification; and 

c. The renewal fee and the reinstatement fee/late penalty. 

5. Fees submitted to the Board are nonrefundable. 

6. Any person engaged in advanced practice nursing during the time his or her license has lapsed shall be  

 considered an illegal practitioner and shall be subject to the penalties provided for violation of the Nurse  

 Practice Act. 
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H.  REINSTATEMENT OF APRN LICENSE 

 1. An individual who applies for licensure reinstatement who has been out of practice for more than two (2) years 

shall provide evidence of passing an APRN refresher course approved by the Board or an extensive orientation, 

which shall include a minimum of 200 hours, in the appropriate advanced practice role and population focus 

which includes a supervised clinical component by a qualified preceptor who meets the following requirements: 

a. Holds an active unencumbered APRN or physician license 

  b.  Is in current practice in the advanced role and population focus; and 

 c. Functions as a supervisor and teacher and evaluates the individual’s performance in the   

  clinical setting. 

 2. For those licensees applying for licensure reinstatement following disciplinary action, compliance with all 

  Board licensure requirements as well as any specified requirements set forth in the Board’s discipline order 

  is required. 

 

I. INACTIVE STATUS 

1. Any licensee who desires to temporarily inactivate their advanced practice registered nurse license in this state 

shall submit a request to the Board. 

2. The APRN license may immediately be placed on inactive status when the registered nurse license is placed on 

inactive status. 

3. While the license is inactive, the licensee shall not engage in advanced practice nursing nor be subject to the 

payment of renewal fees. 

4. If the APRN desires to resume practice in this state, he or she shall submit a reinstatement application and meet 

the continuing education requirements.  

 

J.    RETIRED ADVANCED PRACTICE REGISTERED NURSE 

1. Any advanced practice registered nurse in good standing, who desires to retire for any length of time from the 

practice of nursing in this state shall submit a request and their APRN license shall be placed on retired status. 

2. While retired, the APRN shall not practice advanced practice nursing; however, an APRN with a retired 

license may use the title “Advanced Practice Registered Nurse” or the abbreviation “APRN.” Retired APRNs 

that maintain an active RN or RNP license may practice in the role of a Registered Nurse or Registered Nurse 

Practitioner. 

3. When the licensee desires to resume practice, he or she shall submit a reinstatement application, with a 

reinstatement fee and the active renewal fee. The licensee must also meet those requirements outlined in 

Section III, F. 

4. When disciplinary proceedings have been initiated against a retired licensee, the license shall not be reinstated 

until the proceedings have been completed. 

 
K.   ADDITIONAL CERTIFICATIONS 

1. An APRN who has completed post-masters education for an additional nursing specialty shall: 

a. Submit a request for permission to practice in the new certification area;  

b. Submit evidence of eligibility to sit for the new certification exam from the Board-approved certifying 

body; 

c. Immediately cease practicing in the specialty upon notification of failure of the exam; 

d. Submit results of the certification in the additional specialty directly from the certifying body; 

e. Submit an official transcript or document from a nursing education program that meets the                 

qualifications in Section II of this Chapter verifying the date and degree or certificate conferred. 

2. An APRN who has prescriptive authority shall: 

a.  Prescribe only for patients covered by the original specialty while waiting additional specialty     

 results. 

b.  Submit a collaborative practice agreement which includes the additional certification. 

 
HISTORY: Amended: October 1, 2017 

Amended: December 29, 2018 
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SECTION IV 

CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECK 

 
A. No application for issuance of an initial license will be considered without state and federal criminal background 

checks by the Arkansas State Police and the Federal Bureau of Investigation. 

 

B. Federal background checks originating within the State of Arkansas shall be submitted electronically. 

 

C. Each applicant shall sign a release of information on the criminal background check application and licensure 

applications and shall be solely responsible for the payment of any fees associated with the state and federal 

criminal background checks.  

 

D. Upon completion of the state and federal criminal background checks, the Identification Bureau of the Arkansas 

State Police shall forward all information obtained concerning the applicant in the commission of any offense listed 

in ACA §17-3-102.  

 

E. The state and federal criminal background checks conducted by the Arkansas State Police and the Federal Bureau of 

Investigation shall have been completed no earlier than twelve (12) months prior to the application for an initial 

license issued by the ASBN and at any other time thereafter that the Board deems necessary. 

 

F. The ASBN shall not issue a permanent license until the state and federal criminal background checks conducted by 

the Arkansas State Police and the Federal Bureau of Investigation have been completed. 

 

G. Pursuant to Act 990 of 2019, an individual may petition for a pre-licensure determination of whether the 

individual’s criminal record will disqualify the individual from licensure and whether a waiver may be obtained.  

1. A request for a waiver shall be in writing and accompany the completed application and fees. 

2. All decisions of the Board in response to the petition will be determined by the information provided by the 

individual.   

3. The Board’s response shall state the reason(s) for the decision.  

4. Any decision made by the Board in response to a pre-licensure criminal background waiver petition is not 

subject to appeal. 

 

H. A waiver of the denial of licensure pursuant to the provisions of ACA §17-3-102 is not required for individuals who 

held a valid license on July 24, 2019, an individual who held a valid license on or before July 24, 2019, but failed to 

renew his or her license for any reason; or, an individual who was a student on or before July 24, 2019, in a nursing 

school or program. 

 

I. A request to seek waiver of the denial of licensure pursuant to the provisions of ACA §17-87-312 may be made to 

the ASBN by: 

1. The affected applicant for licensure; or 

2. The person holding a license subject to revocation. 

 

J. The request for a waiver shall be made in writing to the Director or designee within thirty (30)  

calendar days after notification of denial of a license.  The request for waiver shall include, but not be limited to the 

following: 

1. Certified copy of court records indicating grounds for conviction; and 

2. Any other pertinent documentation to indicate surrounding circumstances. 

 

K. If an individual notifies ASBN in writing that he or she desires a hearing regarding their request for a waiver, the 

ASBN will schedule the individual for a hearing pursuant to the Arkansas Administrative Procedures Act. 

 

L. In compliance with ACA §17-87-312, whenever a criminal background check is performed on a person under the 

provisions of the criminal background check requirement contained in the Arkansas Code for licensure, the person 

may be disqualified for licensure if it is determined that the person committed a violation of any sexual offense 

formerly proscribed under ACA §§5-14-101 through 5-14-127 that is substantially equivalent to any sexual offense 
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presently listed in ACA §§5-14-101 through  5-14-127 and is an offense screened for in a criminal background 

check. 
 HISTORY: Adopted: May 15, 2022 

 

 

SECTION V 

NAME OR ADDRESS CHANGE 

 
A. A licensee, whose name is legally changed, shall submit a name change request, copy of marriage license, or court 

action, and the required fee. 

 

B. A licensee whose address changes from the address on file with the Board shall immediately notify the Board in 

writing of the change.  

 
HISTORY: Amended: June 4, 2021 

 

 

SECTION VI 

STANDARDS OF NURSING PRACTICE 

 
A. PURPOSE 

1. To establish standards essential for safe practice by the advanced practice registered nurse. 

2. To serve as a guide for evaluation of advanced nursing practice. 

 

B.  STANDARDS FOR ALL CATEGORIES OF ADVANCED PRACTICE REGISTERED NURSING 

1. The advanced practice registered nurse shall assess clients at an advanced level, identify health status 

including abnormal conditions, establish a diagnosis, develop and implement treatment plans and evaluate 

client outcomes. 

2. The advanced practice registered nurse shall use advanced knowledge and skills in teaching and guiding 

clients and other health team members. 

3. The advanced practice registered nurse shall use critical thinking and decision making at an advanced level, 

commensurate with the autonomy, authority, and responsibility of his/her practice category. 

4. The advanced practice registered nurse shall have knowledge of the statutes and rules governing advanced 

nursing practice, and function within the legal boundaries of the appropriate advanced practice registered 

nursing category. 

5. The advanced practice registered nurse is authorized to sign the following official documents: 

 a. Certification of disability for patients to receive disabled parking permits or placards from the Office 

 of Motor Vehicle;  

 b. Sports physicals to authorize student athletes to participate in athletic activities;  

 c. Physicals for bus drivers;  

 d. Forms relating to do-not-resuscitate orders;  

 e. Forms excusing a potential jury member due to an illness;  

 f. Death certificate;  

 g. Workers’ compensation forms;  

 h. Forms relating to absenteeism for employment or school purposes; and 

 i.  Authorizations for durable medical equipment. 

6. The advanced practice registered nurse shall recognize the APRN’s limits of knowledge and experience, 

planning for situations beyond expertise, and collaborating with or referring clients to other health care 

providers as appropriate. 

7. The advanced practice registered nurse shall retain professional accountability for advanced practice nursing 

care when delegating interventions. 

8. The advanced practice registered nurse shall maintain current knowledge and skills in the advanced practice 

nursing category. 

9. Rules which apply to registered nurses are hereby incorporated by reference. 
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10. The APRN shall comply with the standards for registered nurses as specified in Chapter 1. 

                   Standards for a specific role and population focus of APRN supersede standards for registered                       

                   nurses where conflict between the standards, if any, exists. 

 

C.    In addition to the standards, the advanced practice registered nurse shall practice in accordance with the standards 

established by the national certifying body from which the APRN holds his or her certification required for 

licensure. These standards shall have been reviewed and accepted by the Board. 

 

D. ADDITIONAL STANDARDS FOR CRNAs 

 1. The CRNA, acting in the normal course of his/her professional practice, may be authorized by a hospital or 

institution to act as their agent or employee to order the administration of controlled substances under the 

DEA registration of the hospital or institution. 

 2. The CRNA may order nurses to administer drugs preoperatively and/or postoperatively in connection with 

an anesthetic and/or other operative or invasive procedure that will be or has been provided. 

 3. The CRNA may select, obtain, and administer Schedule II drugs only during the perioperative, peri-

obstetrical and medical procedure period. 

 4. The CRNA’s order shall be directly related to the administration of drugs preoperatively and/or 

postoperatively in connection with an anesthetic and/or other operative or invasive procedure that will be or 

has been provided. 

 5. A CRNA who has not been granted authority by a DEA registrant as described in Title 21 CFR 1301.22, or 

its successor to order the administration of controlled substances shall give all orders as verbal orders from 

the supervising physician, dentist, podiatrist, or other person lawfully entitled to order anesthesia. 

 6. The CRNA shall be responsible for complying with all applicable state and federal laws and rules related to 

medications. 

 7. The consulting individual shall remain immediately available for consultation during the delivery of 

anesthesia for diagnosis, consultation, and treatment of medical conditions. The hospital’s administrative 

staff, medical staff, and governing body shall determine the guidelines on immediately available for 

consultation. 

 
HISTORY: Amended January 1, 2018 

Amended July 1, 2020; May 15, 2022 

 

 

SECTION VII 

PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATION PROGRAMS 

 
A. A national certification program which meets the following criteria shall be recognized by the Board to satisfy 

Section II of these rules. 

 

B. The national certification program: 

1. Is national in the scope of its credentialing; 

2. Is accredited by a national accreditation body as acceptable by the Board; 

3. Has no requirement for an applicant to be a member of any organization; 

4. Has an application process and credential review which includes documentation that the applicant’s education 

is in the advanced practice nursing category being certified, and that the applicant’s clinical practice is in the 

certification category; 

5. Education requirements are consistent with the requirements of the advanced practice role and population foci. 

6. Uses an examination as a basis for certification in the advanced practice nursing category which meets the 

following criteria: 

a. The examination is based upon job analysis studies conducted using standard methodologies 

acceptable to the testing community; 

b.       The examination represents entry-level practice in the APRN role and population focus; 

c. The examination represents the knowledge, skills, and abilities essential for the delivery of safe and 

effective advanced nursing care to clients; 
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d. The examination content and its distribution are specified in a test plan (blueprint), based on the job 

analysis study, that is available to examinees; 

e. Examination items are reviewed for content validity and correct scoring using an established 

mechanism, both before use and periodically;  

f. Examinations are evaluated for psychometric performance; 

g The passing standard is established using acceptable psychometric methods, and is re-evaluated at 

least every five (5) years; 

h. Examination security is maintained through established procedures; and 

i. A retake policy is in place. 

7. Issues certification based upon passing the examination and meeting all other certification requirements; 

8. Provides for periodic recertification which includes review of continued education, qualifications, and 

continued competence; 

9. Has mechanisms in place for communication to the Board for timely verification of an individual’s 

certification status, changes in certification status, and changes in the certification program, including 

qualifications, test plan, and scope of practice;  

10. Has an evaluation process to provide quality assurance in its certification program. 

 

C.     The Board will notify the appropriate certifying body when an APRN has disciplinary action taken on their license 

or privilege to practice which restricts the APRN’s ability to practice (eg. suspension or revocation).  

 
Amended: July 1, 2020 

HISTORY: Amended December 29, 2018 

 

 

SECTION VIII 

PRESCRIPTIVE AUTHORITY 

 
A. INITIAL APPLICANT 

An applicant for an initial certificate of prescriptive authority shall: 

1. Be currently licensed as an advanced practice registered nurse in Arkansas. 

2. Provide evidence from the national certifying body that differential diagnosis and prescribing practices are 

recognized as being within the scope of practice for the applicant’s certification category. 

3. Provide documentation of successful completion of pharmacology coursework which shall include 

pharmacokinetics principles and their clinical application and the prescription of pharmacological agents in 

the prevention and treatment of illness, and the restoration and maintenance of health.  The coursework shall 

contain a minimum of: 

a. Three (3) graduate credit hour pharmacology course offered by an accredited college or university 

within two years immediately prior to the date of application to the Board; or 

b. Forty-five (45) contact hours [a contact hour is fifty (50) to sixty (60) minutes] in a pharmacology 

course which includes a competency component, offered by an accredited college or university, within 

two (2) years immediately prior to the date of application to the Board; or 

c. Three (3) graduate credit hours pharmacology course, included as part of an advanced practice nursing 

education program, within five (5) years immediately prior to the date of application to the Board.  

4. Provide documentation of a minimum of three hundred (300) clock hours preceptorial experience in the 

prescription of drugs, medicines and therapeutic devices with a qualified preceptor, to be initiated with the 

pharmacology course and to be completed within one year of the beginning of the course.  Preceptorial 

experience completed as a part of the formal educational program in which the pharmacology course is 

taught will meet the three hundred (300) clock hour requirement. 

5.       Submit a collaborative practice agreement, unless exempt by Section IX, with a practicing physician who is 

licensed under the Arkansas Medical Practices Act, §17-95-201 et seq., or a podiatrist licensed by the 

Arkansas Board of Podiatric Medicine under Arkansas Code Annotated §17-96-101, et. seq., if employed by 

the podiatrist, and who has training within the scope, specialty or expertise of the advanced practice 

registered nurse.  APRNs who will prescribe controlled substances shall seek a collaborative practice with a 

physician or podiatrist who has an unrestricted DEA registration number.  The collaborative practice 

agreement shall include, but not be limited to: 
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a. Availability of the collaborating physician(s) or podiatrist for consultation or referral or both; 

b. Methods of management of the collaborative practice, which shall include the use of protocols for  

 prescriptive authority; 

c. Plans for coverage of the health care needs of a client in the emergency absence of the advanced  

 practice registered nurse, podiatrist, or physician; 

d. Provision for quality assurance;  

  e. Authorization for the APRN to prescribe hydrocodone combination products which were reclassified  

   from Schedule III to Schedule II as of October 6, 2014 if expressly authorized by the collaborating   

   physician; and 

  f. Authorization for the APRN to prescribe drugs listed in Schedule II subject to the provisions in  

Section VIII(D) if expressly authorized by the collaborating physician or podiatrist. 

g. Signatures of the advanced practice registered nurse and collaborating physician(s) or podiatrist, 

signifying mutual agreement to the terms of the collaborative practice.  

6.    Submit the nonrefundable processing fee with the application for a certificate of prescriptive authority. 

7.    APRNs issued a certificate of prescriptive authority after December 31, 2015 shall obtain a minimum of three 

(3) hours of prescribing education which includes information on maintaining professional boundaries and 

the prescribing rules and laws that apply to APRNs in the state of Arkansas within two (2) years of issuance 

of the prescriptive authority certificate.  

 

B. ENDORSEMENT APPLICANT 

1. An applicant for endorsement of prescriptive authority shall: 

a. Provide documentation of a three (3) graduate credit hour pharmacology course offered by an 

accredited college or university or a forty-five (45) contact hour [a contact hour is fifty (50) to sixty 

(60) minutes] pharmacology course which includes a competency component offered by an accredited 

college or university; 

b. Provide evidence that prescriptive authority is current and unencumbered in the jurisdiction from 

which the applicant is moving; 

c. Provide evidence of prescribing in a clinical setting for at least 500 hours in the year prior to 

application for a certificate of prescriptive authority; 

d. Have an unencumbered advanced practice registered nurse license to practice or the equivalent in the 

jurisdiction from which the applicant is moving; 

e. Provide a copy of current DEA registration (if prescriber has DEA number) and history of registration 

status; and 

f. Meet requirements in Section VIII.A.1, 2, 5, 6, 7. 

2. Endorsement applicants who do not meet all requirements established herein shall be required to submit 

documentation acceptable to the Board according to Section VIII.A. 

 

C. PROTOCOLS FOR PRESCRIPTIVE AUTHORITY 

1.    Protocols are required for all APRNs practicing under a collaborative practice agreement. 

2.             Protocols shall be made available upon request of the Board. Such protocols shall, at a minimum, include: 

a. Indications for and classifications of legend drugs, controlled substances (if prescriber holds a DEA 

registration number), and therapeutic devices which will be prescribed or administered by the APRN; 

b. Date the protocol was adopted or last reviewed, which shall be at least annually. 

 

D.  PRESCRIBING PRIVILEGES 

1. The APRN, applying for a certificate of prescriptive authority, shall acknowledge in the application that he 

or she is familiar with all state and federal laws and rules regarding prescribing, and shall agree to comply 

with these laws and rules. 

2. An advanced practice registered nurse with a certificate of prescriptive authority may receive and prescribe 

legend drugs, medicines or therapeutic devices appropriate to the APRN ‘s area of practice.  The prescriptive 

authority for controlled drugs shall extend to drugs listed in Schedules II through V and hydrocodone 

combination products which were reclassified from Schedule III to Schedule II as of October 6, 2014. 

3. Prescribing stipulations are as follows: 

a. Legend drugs, therapeutic devices, and controlled substances (Schedules II-V), and hydrocodone  

  combination products, which were reclassified from Schedule III to Schedule II as of October 6, 2014,  
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  will be prescribed, administered, or ordered as established in protocols provided that the APRN has an  

  assigned DEA registration number which is entered on each written prescription for a controlled  

  substance. 

b. Except as provided below, the APRN shall provide a prescription for an opioid antagonist when 

prescribing or dispensing an opioid when: 

(1) the patient doesn’t have an existing prescription for an opioid antagonist; and 

(2) the opioid dosage prescribed is equal to or in excess of fifty morphine milligram equivalents (50 

MME) per day; or 

(3) a benzodiazepine has been prescribed for the patient in the past or will be prescribed at the same 

time as the opioid; or 

(4) the patient has a history of opioid use disorder or drug overdose.  

c.        The APRN may directly or by standing order prescribe, dispense, and supply an opioid 

antagonist to any person authorized in ACA§ 20-13-1804. 

d.c. The APRN shall provide patient counseling that addresses the use of an opioid antagonist for overdose 

prevention.  

e. d. Prescribing an opioid antagonist does not apply to a patient receiving hospice or other end-of-life care. 

f. e. If a healthcare professional does not believe that it is in the best interest of a patient to coprescribe an 

opioid antagonist, the APRN shall document in the medical record the reasons for not coprescribing 

the opioid antagonist. 

g. f. Except for hydrocodone combination products, the APRN shall not prescribe Schedule II opioids for 

more than a five (5) day period. If additional Schedule II opioids are needed for management of pain, 

the patient shall be referred to a physician. 

h. g. The APRN is authorized to prescribe Schedule II drugs that are classified as stimulants once the 

following criteria are met: 

 1)      The prescription was originally initiated by a physician; 

 2)  The physician has evaluated the patient within six (6) months before the APRN                                

                    issues a prescription; 

 3)      The prescription by the APRN is to treat the same condition as the original prescription. 

i. h. The APRN shall not prescribe Schedule II controlled substances for his/her own use or for the use of   

his/her immediate family. 

j. i. The APRN shall file his/her DEA registration number with the Board upon receipt. 

k. j. Advanced practice registered nurses shall not delegate to unlicensed ancillary staff the calling in of 

           prescriptions to the pharmacy. 

l. k. The APRN who does not have full practice authority shall notify the Board in writing within seven (7) 

days following termination of the collaborative practice agreement.  A new collaborative practice 

agreement is required to be on file prior to reactivating prescriptive authority. 

4.    The APRN who does not have full practice authority may prescribe a legend drug, medicine or therapeutic 

devices not included in the written protocols only as follows: 

a. Upon a specific written or verbal order obtained from a physician or podiatrist before the prescription 

or order is issued by the APRN; and 

b.  Include documentation of consultation as described above in the client’s medical record to be signed  

  by the APRN; 

c.  Schedule I controlled substances shall not be prescribed under the APRN’s certificate of prescriptive  

 authority.  

5. The APRN shall note prescriptions on the client’s medical record and include the following information: 

a. Medication and strength; 

b. Dose; 

c. Amount prescribed; 

d. Directions for use; 

e. Number of refills; and 

f. Initials or signature of APRN. 

6. The APRN will keep accurate records to include the medical history, physical examination, other evaluations 

and consultations, treatment plan objective, informed consent noted in the patient record, treatment, 

medications given, agreements with the patient and periodic reviews. 
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7. The APRN will periodically review the course of scheduled drug treatment of the patient and any new 

information about etiology of the pain. If the patient has not improved, the APRN may assess the 

appropriateness of continued prescribing of scheduled medications or dangerous drugs, or trial of other 

modalities. 

8. The APRN will obtain written informed consent from those patients he or she is concerned may abuse 

controlled substances and discuss the risks and benefits of the use of controlled substances with the patient, 

his or her guardian, or authorized representatives.  

9. Advanced practice registered nurses in the category of certified registered nurse anesthetists shall not be 

required to have prescriptive authority to provide anesthesia care, including the administration of drugs or 

medicines necessary for such care. 

10. Advanced practice registered nurses who prescribe prior to obtaining a certificate of prescriptive shall be 

considered illegal practitioners and shall be subject to the penalties provided for violation of the Nurse 

Practice Act. 

 

E.   PRESCRIPTION FORMAT 

1. All prescriptions issued by the APRN shall contain the name of the client, and the APRN’s name, title, 

address, telephone number, signature with the initials “APRN” and shall include information contained in 

Subsection D.5.a-f of this Section. 

2.      All prescriptions for controlled substances shall be in accordance with federal rules.  The APRN’s assigned 

DEA registration number shall be included on the prescription when a controlled substance is prescribed. 

 

F.   RECEIVING PREPACKAGED DRUG SAMPLES 

1. APRNs who have an active prescriptive authority certificate may receive legend drug samples and 

therapeutic devices appropriate to their area of practice, including controlled substances contained in 

Schedules III through V and only hydrocodone combination products, which were reclassified from Schedule 

III to Schedule II as of October 6, 2014, which have been prepared, packaged, or fabricated by a 

pharmaceutical manufacturer in accordance with the Arkansas pharmacy laws and rules. 

2.       Records must comply with all applicable federal and state laws and rules. 

 

G.  TERMINATION OF PRESCRIPTIVE AUTHORITY 

1. Prescriptive authority may be terminated by the Board when the prescriber: 

  a. Fails to maintain current active licensure as an advanced practice registered nurse; 

  b. Violates provisions of this Act and/or Rules established by the Arkansas Department of Health, 

Nursing or Pharmacy Boards; 

 c. Violates any state or federal law or rules applicable to prescriptions; or 

 d. Fails to follow any conditions imposed. 

2.      To reinstate prescriptive authority, the APRN must meet requirements of the Board at the time of 

reinstatement. 

 

H. LAPSED CERTIFICATE OF PRESCRIPTIVE AUTHORITY 

1. The certificate of prescriptive authority is lapsed if: 

 a.  The licensee’s active advanced practice registered nurse license is not renewed by the expiration date; 

 b.  The national certification upon which licensure is based expires; 

c The advanced practice license is placed on inactive or retired status or 

d. There is not a current collaborative practice agreement, if required, on file with the board 

2.   Any person engaged in prescribing during the time his or her certificate of prescriptive authority has lapsed 

shall be considered an illegal practitioner and shall be subject to the penalties provided for violation of the 

Nurse Practice Act. 

 

I. INACTIVE STATUS 

1.     A certificate of prescriptive authority will automatically be considered lapsed and subject to the requirements 

of these rules when a licensee places his or her advanced practice registered nurse license on inactive status. 

2.     While the certificate of prescriptive authority or advanced practice registered nurse license is inactive, the 

licensee shall not engage in any practice within the scope of the certificate of prescriptive authority. 
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3.     If the nurse desires to resume practice in this state, he or she shall request a renewal application which shall 

be completed and submitted with a renewal fee and the reinstatement fee.  Fees are nonrefundable. 

4.    All certification requirements for renewal shall apply. 

5.    If disciplinary proceedings on an inactive licensee have been initiated, the license shall not be reinstated until 

the proceedings have been completed. 

 

J. REACTIVATION OF PRESCRIPTIVE AUTHORITY 

APRNs whose prescriptive authority is inactive shall complete:  

1.        Five (5) contact hours of pharmacotherapeutics continuing education in the APRN’s area of certification for 

each 12 months of non-prescribing activity in addition to the five (5) contact hours required for APRN 

license renewal, as noted in Chapter 4, III(F)(7), prior to reactivation of prescriptive authority. 

2.        Two (2) contact hours shall include information on maintaining professional boundaries and the prescribing 

rules and laws that apply to the APRNs in the state of Arkansas  

 

K. PRESCRIPTION DRUG MONITORING PROGRAM 

1. APRNs may delegate access to the Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP) for running requested 

reports to no more than two licensed nurses under his or her supervision or employment at each practice 

location. 

2. APRNs with prescriptive authority shall review PDMP report from the Prescription Drug Monitoring 

Program prior to prescribing:  

a. An opioid from Schedule II or Schedule III every time prescribing the medication to a patient; and 

b. A benzodiazepine medication for the first time and every six (6) months thereafter prescribing for a 

patient; and 

c. A stimulant from schedule II for the first time and every six (6) months thereafter prescribing 

for a patient. 

3. Review of the PDMP report shall be documented in the patient’s medical record. 

4. Mandatory checking of the PDMP does not apply when prescribing a controlled substance to a patient; 

a. Immediately before or during surgery; or 

b. During recovery from surgery while in a healthcare facility; or 

c. In a healthcare facility; or 

d. When necessary to treat a patient in an emergency situation at the scene of an emergency, in a licensed 

ground ambulance or air ambulance, or in the intensive care unit of a licensed hospital; or 

e. In palliative care or hospice; or 

f. In a licensed nursing home facility; or  

g. In situations in which the PDMP is not accessible due to technological or electrical failure. 

 
HISTORY: Amended January 1, 2018 

Amended July 1, 2020 

 

 

SECTION IX 

FULL PRACTICE AUTHORITY 

 

A. Certified Nurse Midwife 

1. A collaborative practice agreement is not required unless the Certified Nurse Midwife prescribes Schedule II 

controlled substances. 

2. If delivering infants outside an accredited facility the Certified Nurse Midwife shall have an agreement, with a 

licensed physician or facility, or both, which identifies an arrangement for referral and consultation in the event 

of a medical complication. The agreement shall be made available to the Board upon request. 

3. A certificate of prescriptive authority shall be issued prior to prescribing any legend drug, medicine or 

therapeutic device. 

 

B. Certified Nurse Practitioner or Clinical Nurse Specialist 

1. Qualifications 

a. Currently be licensed as a Certified Nurse Practitioner or Clinical Nurse Specialist in Arkansas, 
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b. Have no encumbrance on any nursing license in any jurisdiction, 

c. Completed a minimum of six thousand two hundred (6,240) hours of practice: 

i. Under a collaborative practice agreement, board-required agreement with a physician; or 

ii. In another state, territory, or foreign country that authorizes a certified nurse practitioner or 

a clinical nurse specialist to practice with prescriptive authority if the certified nurse 

practitioner or clinical nurse specialist provides proof of licensure in good standing; and 

d. Holds an active prescriptive authority certificate. 

2. Scope of Practice 

a. Receive and prescribe drugs, medications or therapeutic devices appropriate for area(s) of approved 

population foci. 

b. Prescribing legend drugs and controlled substances shall follow the provisions in ASBN Rules, Chapter 

4, Section VIII(D). 

3. An applicant for initial full independent practice authority shall submit: 

a. An application and applicable fees; 

b. An affidavit of successful completion of six thousand two hundred (6,240) hours of practice 

i. under a collaborative practice board-required agreement with a physician; or 

ii. prescribing in a full practice authority state; and 

c. Any other relevant information requested by the Board or Full Independent Practice Credentialing 

Committee. 

4. Certificates of full independent practice authority shall be renewed every three (3) years. The applicant shall: 

a. Submit an application and applicable fees, and 

b. Any other relevant information requested by the Board or Full Independent Practice Credentialing 

Committee 

5. Lapsed full independent practice authority certificate 

a. The certificate of full independent practice authority is lapsed if: 

1) The licensee’s certificate of prescriptive authority is lapsed; or 

2) The renewal application for full independent practice authority has not been approved. 

b. The Certified Nurse Practitioner or Clinical Nurse Specialist may practice under a collaborative practice 

agreement until the full independent practice certificate is renewed.  

6. Complaints against a Certified Nurse Practitioner or Clinical Nurse Specialist with full independent practice 

authority shall be referred to the Full Independent Practice Credentialing Committee for review and action on 

the certificate of full independent practice authority. 

7. In the office of practice, the Certified Nurse Practitioner or Clinical Nurse Specialist shall conspicuously 

display the current certificate of full independent practice authority with notation the practitioner is not required 

to have a collaborative practice agreement with a physician. 

 
HISTORY: Adopted May 15, 2022 

 

 

SECTION X 

PRESCRIBING GUIDELINES FOR ANOREXIANT DRUGS 

 
An Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (APRN) must maintain prescribing medication practices that are within the 

APRN’s educational preparation and certification.  An APRN will be in violation of the Arkansas Nurse Practice Act if 

he/she prescribes Schedule III and/or Schedule IV drugs under the Uniform Controlled Substance Act for short-term 

treatment of obesity, except in conformity with the requirements as set below. 

 

A. PRESCRIBING GUIDELINES 

1.    An established APRN/patient relationship shall exist. The patient shall be age 18 or older, or have written 

consent from a parent or guardian. The medication shall only be an adjunct to a comprehensive weight loss 

program focused on appropriate nutrition education, a change in lifestyle, counseling, and an individualized 

exercise program. The APRN shall determine whether or not the patient has made a substantial good faith 

effort to lose weight through diet and alteration of lifestyle prior to beginning drug therapy.  
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2.    The treating APRN shall take a complete history of the patient, including a detailed family history, dietary 

history, and shall perform a complete physical examination. The physical examination shall include a 

minimum of checking the blood pressure and pulse, examining the heart and lungs, recording height and 

weight, and administering any other appropriate diagnostic tests to evaluate for a metabolic disorder. The 

history and examination shall be sufficient to determine if the patient has previously been drug dependent, to 

determine if there is a metabolic cause of the obesity which would make anorexiant drugs inappropriate, and 

to determine if there are other contraindications to use of anorexiant drugs exists.   

3.    The APRN shall discuss with the patient different approaches to the treatment of obesity, and the risks and 

benefits associated with each approach. Risks shall include potential side effects, such as cardiovascular and 

pulmonary complications, as well as the potential for lack of success with weight loss. The APRN shall be 

aware of potential drug interactions between anorexiants, and other centrally acting drugs. The treating 

APRN shall prescribe a diet for weight loss and appropriate counseling regarding lifestyle change, and record 

these changes on the patient’s medical record. Consideration on the use of anorexiant medications shall take 

into account the degree of overweight and associated medical conditions. The body mass index (BMI) shall 

be used as a guide to determine the degree of overweight status. In general, anorexiant medications shall only 

be used if the BMI is more than 27. In the case of associated obesity-related medical conditions, anorexiant 

medications may be considered with a BMI above 25. Obesity-related medical conditions include, but are not 

limited to, diabetes, hypertension, dyslipidemia, cardiovascular disease, sleep apnea, psychological 

conditions, disc disease, and severe arthritis of the lower extremities.  

4.    The treating APRN shall prescribe a daily dosage that does not exceed the dosage recommended in the 

manufacturer’s prescribing information for the drug prescribed. 

5.    The APRN shall not prescribe more than a 30-day supply for a patient at each visit and regular follow-up 

visits shall not exceed 30 days. The patient shall be weighed at each visit prior to the prescribing of an 

additional supply of the drug. 

6.    At the time of each return patient visit, the treating APRN shall monitor progress of the patient. The patient’s 

weight, blood pressure, pulse, heart, and lungs shall be assessed. In addition to any side effects of the 

medications, the APRN shall perform appropriate exams and tests to monitor the safety of any weight loss. 

This may include a detailed dietary questionnaire, serum electrolytes, blood glucose, and other tests deemed 

appropriate. The APRN shall discontinue the anorexiant medications when the patient reaches weight loss 

goals. These goals may be defined as a body weight that is no longer considered “obese” (e.g. BMI of less 

than or equal to 27), or an improvement in medical conditions (e.g. normalization of blood glucose).  After 

the goal is reached, the APRN may continue to prescribe anorexiant drugs for up to an additional sixty (60) 

days.  

7.    Except as otherwise provided by this regulation, Schedule III and/or Schedule IV anorexiant drugs are only 

recommended for short-term use (e.g. 90 days). In addition, anorexiant drugs shall not be prescribed to a 

patient with a BMI of less than 27, unless prescribing for obesity-related conditions with a BMI of above 25. 

The treating APRN may extend therapy beyond 90 days under the following conditions: 

a. When the anorexiant drugs are indicated for treatment of diseases other than obesity; and 

b. When, in the APRN’s professional judgment, the treating APRN is assessing and recording significant 

 progress or benefit from the drugs and no adverse effects occur that are related to the treatment.  

 

 

SECTION XI  

PRESCRIPTIVE AUTHORITY ADVISORY COMMITTEE 

 
A. PURPOSE 

The purpose of this committee shall include functioning in an advisory capacity to assist the Board with oversight 

and implementation of the provisions regarding prescriptive authority. 

 

B. COMPOSITION 

The Advisory Committee shall be composed of six (6) members appointed by the Board and approved by the 

Governor.  Four (4) members shall be advanced practice registered nurses with at least three (3) of whom hold 

certificates of prescriptive authority and an active Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) number. One (1) 

committee member shall be a licensed physician who has been involved in a collaborative practice with an advanced 

practice registered nurse for at least five (5) years.  One member shall be a licensed pharmacist who has been 
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licensed for at least five (5) years.  

 

C. TERMS OF OFFICE 

Members shall serve three (3) year terms and may be reappointed.   The Board may remove any advisory committee 

member, after notice and hearing, for incapacity, incompetence, neglect of duty, or malfeasance in office. 

 

D. COMPENSATION 

Advisory committee members shall serve without compensation; but may be reimbursed to the extent special 

monies are appropriated therefore for actual and necessary expenses incurred in the performance of their official 

Board duties.            

 

 

SECTION XII  

NURSING EDUCATION PROGRAMS 

 

A. NEW APRN PROGRAM LEADING TO LICENSURE 

 1. Prerequisite Approval 

  a.         An institution, seeking to establish a new APRN nursing education program leading to   

  licensure, shall submit a letter of intent to the Board. 

  1)    An applicant for an Advanced Practice Registered Nursing (APRN) program shall comply with 

the “Criteria and Procedures for Preparing Proposals for New Programs,” established by the 

Arkansas Department of Higher Education.  

  2)   Appropriate professional accreditation (nursing accrediting organizations recognized by the U.S. 

Department of Education and/or the Council for Higher Education Accreditation) of the new 

APRN program is considered to be deemed status as approved by the Board.  

  b. The institution shall submit: 

   1)    A copy of the curricula plan and course descriptions for Board review within thirty (30) days of  

sending the information to the accrediting body;  

   2)   Other accreditation materials as requested by the Board; and 

   3)  Documentation of accreditation within thirty (30) days of receipt of the report from the     

accrediting body. 

 

B. ESTABLISHED PROGRAM THAT PREPARES GRADUATES FOR LICENSURE 

 1. Continued Full Approval – an established graduate program in advanced practice registered nursing shall 

submit to the Board documentation of the program’s continued national nursing accreditation status within 

thirty (30) days of receipt from the accrediting body.  Receipt of the documentation shall serve as deemed 

status for approval by the ASBN. 

  

C. EDUCATION PROGRAM 

 1.          The education program for advanced practice nursing shall meet the nursing accrediting body standards for 

   advanced practice registered nursing. 

 2. The curriculum plan for advanced practice registered nursing shall include: 

  a. Preparation in one of the four identified APRN roles (CRNA, CERTIFIED NURSE MIDWIFE, 

CNS, and CNP); and 

  b. Preparation in at least one of the approved population foci:  

   1) Family/Individual Across the Lifespan 

   2) Adult-Gerontology 

   3) Neonatal 

   4) Pediatrics 

   5) Women’s Health/Gender-Related 

   6) Psychiatric/Mental Health; and 

  c. Three separate graduate level courses (the APRN Core): 

   1) Advanced physiology and pathophysiology 

   2) Advanced health assessment 

   3) Advanced pharmacology 
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 3. Clinical Experiences 

  a. All graduate or post-graduate programs leading to advanced practice licensure shall have a minimum 

of 500 supervised clinical hours in direct clinical practice during the program.  

  b. APRN programs preparing for two population foci shall have a minimum of 500 supervised clinical 

hours for each population focus.  

  c. Clinical supervision must be congruent with current national professional organizations and nursing 

accrediting body standards applicable to the APRN role and population focus. 

  d. Student clinical experiences shall be congruent with the population focus of the role.  

   

 

SECTION XIII  

PRESCRIBING FOR CHRONIC NONMALIGNANT PAIN 

 
A.   Chronic nonmalignant pain is defined as pain requiring more than three consecutive months of prescriptions for: 

1. An opioid that is written for more than the equivalent of ninety (90) tablets, each containing five (5) 

milligrams of hydrocodone; or 

2. A morphine equivalent dose of more than fifteen mg (15 mg) per day: or 

3. Tramadol – an average dose of two hundred milligrams (200 mg) or greater per day.  

 

B. When opioids are started, the lowest effective dosage should be prescribed. APRNs should use caution when 

prescribing opioids at any dosage and carefully reassess evidence of individual benefits and risks when considering 

increasing dosage to >50 morphine milligram equivalents (MME) per day. APRNs should avoid increasing dosage 

to >90 MME/day or carefully justify a decision to titrate dosage to >90 MME/day. 

 

C. If opioids are prescribed at a level defined by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) as excessive 

(>50 MME/day) the following shall be documented in the patient’s medical record: 

1. Objective findings, which include, but are not limited to, imaging studies, lab testing and results, nerve 

 conduction testing, biopsy, and any other test that would establish pain generating pathology. 

2. Specific reasons for the need to prescribe > 50 MME/day. 

3. Documented alternative treatment plans as well as alternative therapies tried and failed prior to considering 

 chronic opioid therapy. 

4. Documented risk factor assessment detailing that the patient was informed of the risk and addictive nature of 

 the prescribed drug. 

5. Documented assessment of the potential for abuse and/or diversion of the prescribed drug. 

6. Documented review of the Prescription Drug Monitoring report prior to issuing the prescription. 

7. A detailed clinical rational for the prescribing 

 

D. Patient Treatment and Evaluation 

1. The patient shall be evaluated through an in-person examination at least every three (3) months by the APRN 

and at least one (1) time every six (6) months by a physician who is licensed by the Arkansas State Medical 

Board. 

2. A current Prescription Drug Monitoring Program report shall be reviewed at least every six (6) months. The 

review shall be documented in the patient’s medical record. 

3. A current pain contract with the patient shall be maintained and include, at a minimum, requirements for: 

a. Random urine drug screens and 

b. Random pill counts  

 

E. The requirements of this section shall not apply to a patient: 

1. Whose pain medications are being prescribed for a malignant condition: 

2. With a terminal condition; 

3. Who is a resident of a licensed healthcare facility; 

4. Who is enrolled in a hospice program; or 

5. Who is in an inpatient or outpatient palliative care program. 
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HISTORY: Adopted: March 26, 2017 

Amended: January 1, 2018; December 29, 2018 

 

 

SECTION XIV 

MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING A PATIENT RELATIONSHIP 

 

A. The APRN shall establish a proper APRN/patient relationship prior to providing any patient care. 

 

B. A proper APRN/patient relationship, at a minimum requires that: 

1.     The APRN perform a history and an “in person” physical examination of the patient adequate to 

establish a diagnosis and identify underlying conditions and/or contraindications to the treatment 

recommended/provided; OR 

2.     The APRN perform a face-to-face examination using real-time audio or visual telemedicine technology 

that provides information at least equal to such information as would have been obtained by an in-person 

examination; AND 

3.     Appropriate follow-up be provided or arranged, when necessary, at medically necessary intervals. 

 

C. A proper APRN/patient relationship is also deemed to exist in the following situations: 

1.    When treatment is provided in consultation with, or upon referral by another health care provider who has 

an ongoing relationship with the patient, and who has agreed to supervise the patient’s treatment, 

including follow-up care and the use of any prescribed medications. 

2.     On-call or cross-coverage situations arranged by the patient’s health care provider. 

3.     Has access to a patient’s personal health record maintained by a healthcare professional and uses any 

technology deemed appropriate by the healthcare professional, including the telephone, with a patient 

located in Arkansas to diagnose, treat and, if clinically appropriate, prescribe a noncontrolled drug to the 

patient. 

 

D.   Recognizing a Providers duty to adhere to the applicable standard of care, the following situations are    

       hereby excluded from the requirement of this regulation: 

1. Emergency situations where the life or health of the patient is in danger or imminent danger. 

2. Providing information of a generic nature not meant to be specific to an individual. 

3. Providing prescriptions written or medications issued for use in expedited heterosexual partner therapy 

 for the sexually transmitted diseases of gonorrhea and/or chlamydia. 

4. Administration of vaccines containing tetanus toxoid (e.g., DTaP, DTP, DT, Tdap, TD, or TT) or 

 inactive influenza vaccines. 
 

         HISTORY: Adopted: January 1, 2018 

Amended July 1, 2020 

 

 

SECTION XV 

TELEMEDICINE 

 

Requirement for all services provided by APRNs providing care via telemedicine: 

A. An APRN/patient relationship shall be established in accordance with Chapter 4, Section XIV XIII before the 

delivery of services via telemedicine.  A patient completing a medical history online and forwarding it to an 

APRN is not sufficient to establish the relationship, nor does it qualify as store-and-forward technology. 

 

B. The following requirements apply to all services provided by APRNs using telemedicine: 

1. The practice of nursing via telemedicine shall be held to the same standards of care as traditional   

 in-person encounters. 

2. The APRN shall obtain a detailed explanation of the patient’s complaint from the patient or the patient’s 

health care provider. 
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3. If a decision is made to provide treatment, the APRN shall agree to accept responsibility for the care 

of the patient. 

4. If follow-up care is indicated, the APRN shall agree to provide or arrange for such follow-up care. 

5. An APRN using telemedicine may NOT issue a prescription for any controlled substances defined as any 

scheduled medication under schedules III through V and only hydrocodone combination products which 

were reclassified from Schedule III to Schedule II as of October 6, 2014 unless the APRN has seen the 

patient for an in-person exam or unless a relationship exists through consultation or referral; or on-call or 

cross-coverage situations.  

6. The APRN shall keep a documented medical record, including medical history. 

7. At the patient’s request, the APRN shall make available to the patient an electronic or hardcopy version 

of the patient’s medical record documenting the encounter. Additionally, unless the patient declines to 

consent, the APRN shall forward a copy of the record of the encounter to the patient’s regular treating 

health care provider if that health care provider is not the same one delivering the service via 

telemedicine. 

8. Services shall be delivered in a transparent manner, including providing access to information identifying 

the APRN in advance of the encounter, with licensure and board certifications, as well as patient 

financial responsibilities. 

9. If the patient, at the recommendation of the APRN, needs to be seen in person for the current medical 

issue, the APRN shall arrange to see the patient in person or direct the patient to their regular treating 

health care provider.  Such recommendation shall be documented in the patient’s medical record. 

10. APRNs who deliver services through telemedicine shall establish protocols for referrals for emergency 

services. 

11. APRNs providing care via telemedicine to a patient located within the State of Arkansas shall be licensed 

to practice nursing in the State of Arkansas. 

12. Telemedicine may be utilized for group therapy for adults (over the age of 18) who are participants in a 

program or plan authorized and funded under 42 U.S.C. §1396a, if permitted by the Centers for Medicare 

and Medicaid Services. 

 
HISTORY: Adopted: January 1, 2018 

Amended: May 15, 2022 

 

 

SECTION XVI 

LICENSURE FOR UNIFORMED SERVICE MEMBERS, VETERANS AND SPOUSES 

 
A. EXPEDITED AUTOMATIC LICENSURE 

1. Temporary permits for individuals listed in Section XVI(A)(2) shall be issued within twenty-four (24) hours 

of receipt of all required documents. 

2. The Board will give preference in the order of processing to applications for full licensure filed by the 

following individuals: 

a. A uniformed service member stationed in the State of Arkansas; 

b. A uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; or 

c. The spouse of a: 

1) Person under (a) or (b) above; or 

2) Uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service 

member’s spouse from accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to 

Arkansas; or 

3) Uniformed service member who is killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of 

duty if the spouse establishes residency in Arkansas. 
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B. EXTENSION OF LICENSURE EXPIRATION DATE 

Upon written request and submission of appropriate documentation, deployed uniformed service member or spouse 

shall be allowed an extension of the expiration date without penalty or assessment of a late fee for renewing the 

nursing license.  The extension shall be effective for one hundred eighty (180) days after the service member or 

spouse returns from active deployment. 

 

C. CONSIDERATION OF MILITARY TRAINING AND EXPERIENCE 

When considering an application for licensure from a uniformed service member or a uniformed service veteran 

applying within one (1) year of his or her discharge from uniformed service, the Board shall: 

1. Consider whether or not the applicant’s military education, training, national certification, service-issued 

credential,  and experience in the practice of nursing is substantially similar to the experience or education 

required for licensure. 

2. Accept the applicant’s military education, training, national certification, service-issued credential,   and 

experience in the practice of nursing in lieu of experience or education required for licensure, if the Board 

determines that the military training and experience is a satisfactory substitute for the experience or 

education required for licensure. 

 

D. WAIVER OF CONTINUING EDUCATION 

1. Upon written request and submission of appropriate documentation the continuing education requirements 

 for license renewal shall be waived for: 

 a.   A uniformed service member deployed; or  

 b.   The spouse of a deployed uniformed service member. 

2. This waiver shall be extended until one hundred eighty (180) days following the date of the uniformed 

 service member’s return from deployment. 
 

 History: Adopted December 29, 2018 

Amended: May 15, 2022 
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CHAPTER FOUR     

ADVANCED PRACTICE REGISTERED NURSE 

 

SECTION I 

SCOPE OF PRACTICE 

 
The advanced practice registered nurse shall practice in a manner consistent with the definition of the practice of 

advanced practice registered nursing set forth in Arkansas Code Annotated §17-87-102 (4)(5)(6)(7)(8), and in 

accordance with the scope of practice defined by the appropriate national certifying body and the standards set forth in 

these rules. The advanced practice registered nurse (APRN) may provide health care for which the APRN is 

educationally prepared and for which competence has been attained and maintained. 

 

SECTION II 

QUALIFICATIONS FOR LICENSURE 

 
Advanced practice registered nurse (APRN) licensure shall be designated in one of the four roles below and at least one 

population focus: Family/Individual Across the Lifespan, Adult-Gerontology, Neonatal, Pediatrics, Women’s 

Health/Gender-Related, or Psychiatric/Mental Health (effective 2015).  A current, unencumbered registered nurse license 

to practice in Arkansas is required for all categories of advanced practice licensure.  Effective January 1, 2003, all 

applicants for advanced practice licensure by examination shall have completed a graduate or post-graduate level 

advanced practice registered nursing education program. Applicants for advanced practice licensure by endorsement 

shall have met the educational and certification requirements set forth in Arkansas State Board of Nursing Rules at the 

time of their initial licensure as an advanced practice registered nurse in another jurisdiction. APRN roles and their 

respective qualifications are: 

 

A. CERTIFIED NURSE PRACTITIONER (CNP)   

1. Successful completion of a nationally accredited graduate or post-graduate APRN education program that 

prepares nurses for the advanced practice role of nurse practitioner; and 

2. Hold current certification by a national certifying body recognized by the Board of Nursing in the APRN role 

and population foci appropriate for educational preparation. 

 

B. CERTIFIED REGISTERED NURSE ANESTHETIST (CRNA) 

1. Successful completion of a nationally accredited graduate or post-graduate APRN education program that 

prepares nurses to perform as nurse anesthetists; and 

2. Hold current certification by a national certifying body recognized by the Board of Nursing in the APRN role 

and population foci appropriate for educational preparation. 

 

C. CERTIFIED NURSE MIDWIFE (CNM) 

1. Successful completion of a nationally accredited graduate or post-graduate APRN education program that 

prepares nurses for the advanced practice role of nurse midwife; and 

2. Hold current certification by a national certifying body recognized by the Board of Nursing in the APRN role 

and population foci appropriate for educational preparation. 

 

D. CLINICAL NURSE SPECIALIST (CNS) 

1. Successful completion of a nationally accredited graduate or post-graduate APRN education program that 

prepares nurses for the advanced practice role of clinical nurse specialist which shall include supervised 

clinical practice and classroom instruction in a nursing clinical practice specialty; and 

2. Hold current certification by a national certifying body recognized by the Board of Nursing in the APRN role 

and population foci appropriate for educational preparation. 
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SECTION III 

LICENSURE 

 
A. ELIGIBILITY 

The applicant shall meet the licensure requirements of the Board including a valid United States Social Security Number 

(SSN) or has been issued a Federal Form I-766 U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services-issued Employment 

Authorization Document. 

 

B. APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION 

In addition to a current registered nurse license to practice in Arkansas, the information submitted to the Board shall 

include: 

1. A completed Board application form; 

2. Verification of active practice of nursing as a registered nurse for a minimum of two-thousand (2,000) hours, 

effective July 1, 2019; 

3. An official transcript or document from a nursing education program accredited by a nursing accrediting body 

that is recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education and/or Council for Higher Education Accreditation 

(CHEA), as acceptable by the Board and meets the qualifications of Section II of this Chapter in the category of 

advanced practice nursing for which the applicant is seeking licensure.  The transcript or document shall verify 

the date of graduation, the degree or certificate conferred, clinical hours completed, and the role and population 

focus of the education program; 

4. Evidence of state and federal criminal background checks conducted by the Arkansas State Police and the 

Federal Bureau of Investigation completed no earlier than twelve (12) months prior to the application for 

advanced practice licensure; 

5. Verification of certification directly from the Board-approved national certifying body evidencing current   

certification in good standing; and 

6. Payment of the nonrefundable fee. 

 

C. APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT 

1. The Board may issue a license by endorsement to an APRN licensed under the laws of another state if, in the 

opinion of the Board, the applicant meets the qualifications for licensure in this state.  

2. In addition to the requirements set forth in Section II and III. A. and B. of this Chapter, the information 

 submitted to the Board shall include documentation of current unencumbered advanced practice  

 licensure/authority to practice in another jurisdiction. 

3. An individual applying for licensure by endorsement who has been out of practice for more than two (2) years 

shall provide evidence of passing an APRN nursing refresher course approved by the Board or an extensive 

orientation, which shall include a minimum of 200 hours, in the appropriate advanced practice role and 

population focus which includes a supervised clinical component by a qualified preceptor who meets the 

following requirements: 

a. Holds an active unencumbered APRN or physician license, 

b.   Is in current practice in the advanced role and population focus and 

c.    Functions as a supervisor and teacher and evaluates the individual’s performance in the clinical setting. 

 

D.  APPLICATION FOR AN INTERNATIONALLY EDUCATED APRN (educated outside the United States) 

      An internationally educated applicant for licensure in this state as an APRN shall: 

1. Graduate from a graduate level APRN program equivalent to an APRN educational program in the United 

States accepted by the Board. 

2. Submit an official transcript directly from the international nursing education program and verified through a 

qualified credentials evaluation process for the license being sought. 

3. Meet all other licensure criteria required of applicants educated in the United States, including English 

proficiency. 

 

E.   TEMPORARY PERMITS 

1. Upon application and payment of the required fee, the Board shall issue a nonrenewable temporary permit to 

practice in an advanced practice nursing category to a qualified applicant who has no violations as listed in 

ACA §17-3-102 on the Arkansas State Police criminal background check and: 
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a. Meets the educational requirements set forth in Section II of this Chapter and has been accepted by the 

appropriate certification body to sit for the national certification exam he or she is eligible to take; or 

b. Has a current advanced practice registered nurse license or the equivalent from another jurisdiction and 

has current Board-approved certification in the appropriate advanced practice nursing education 

category. 

2. The temporary permit shall immediately become invalid upon receipt of information obtained from the federal 

criminal background check indicating any offense listed in ACA §17-3-102 or upon notification to the 

applicant or ASBN of failure of the certification examination. 

3. The temporary permit is not renewable and does not apply to prescriptive authority. 

4. In no event shall the permit be valid in excess of six (6) months. 

 

F. RENEWALS 

1. The date for renewal of licensure to practice as an advanced practice registered nurse shall coincide with 

renewal of the applicant's registered nurse license. 

2. An applicant for renewal of an advanced practice registered nurse license shall submit to the Board: 

 a. A completed Board renewal application form; 

b. Documentation of current national certification in the appropriate APRN specialty through a  ongoing 

 maintenance program of a Board approved certifying body;     certification mainte 

c. Documentation of current compact state RN licensure if primary state of residence has                      

enacted the Interstate Nurse Licensure Compact; and  

d. Payment of the nonrefundable renewal fee. 

3.  Advanced practice registered nurses with prescriptive authority, who do not have full practice authority, shall 

submit evidence of a current collaborative practice agreement as a prerequisite to license renewal.  

4.  A Certified Nurse Practitioner or Clinical Nurse Specialist who has been granted full independent practice 

authority shall apply for renewal of the full independent practice authority certificate every three (3) years. 

5. If disciplinary proceedings have been initiated against an individual with a lapsed, inactive, or retired        

license, the license shall not be renewed until the proceedings have been completed. 

6. Continuing education submitted to the certifying body to meet the qualifications for recertification shall be 

accepted as meeting the statutory requirement for continuing education. 

7. Upon request, an APRN shall submit documentation to the Board of continuing education. 

8. APRNs with prescriptive authority shall complete five (5) contact hours of pharmacotherapeutics continuing 

education in the APRN’s area of certification each biennium prior to license renewal. Two (2) of the five (5) 

hours must contain information related to maintaining professional boundaries and the prescribing rules and 

laws that apply to APRNs in the State of Arkansas. 

9. Pursuant to Act 204 of 2017, upon notification of active-duty status and submission of appropriate 

documentation, the license renewal fee will be waived for members of the military. 

 
HISTORY: Amended January 1, 2018 

Amended: July 1, 2020; June 4, 2021 

 

G. LAPSED APRN LICENSE 

  The license is lapsed if not renewed or placed on inactive status by the expiration date. 

1. The license is lapsed if the RN license or privilege to practice in Arkansas is not current. 

2. The license is lapsed when the national certification upon which licensure was granted expires. 

3. Failure to receive the renewal notice at the last address of record in the Board office shall not relieve the 

licensee of the responsibility for renewing the license by the expiration date. 

4. Any licensee whose license has lapsed shall submit to the Board: 

a. A completed Board renewal application form; 

b. Documentation of current national certification; and 

c. The renewal fee and the reinstatement fee/late penalty. 

5. Fees submitted to the Board are nonrefundable. 

6. Any person engaged in advanced practice nursing during the time his or her license has lapsed shall be  

 considered an illegal practitioner and shall be subject to the penalties provided for violation of the Nurse  

 Practice Act. 
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H.  REINSTATEMENT OF APRN LICENSE 

 1. An individual who applies for licensure reinstatement who has been out of practice for more than two (2) years 

shall provide evidence of passing an APRN refresher course approved by the Board or an extensive orientation, 

which shall include a minimum of 200 hours, in the appropriate advanced practice role and population focus 

which includes a supervised clinical component by a qualified preceptor who meets the following requirements: 

a. Holds an active unencumbered APRN or physician license 

  b.  Is in current practice in the advanced role and population focus; and 

 c. Functions as a supervisor and teacher and evaluates the individual’s performance in the   

  clinical setting. 

 2. For those licensees applying for licensure reinstatement following disciplinary action, compliance with all 

  Board licensure requirements as well as any specified requirements set forth in the Board’s discipline order 

  is required. 

 

I. INACTIVE STATUS 

1. Any licensee who desires to temporarily inactivate their advanced practice registered nurse license in this state 

shall submit a request to the Board. 

2. The APRN license may immediately be placed on inactive status when the registered nurse license is placed on 

inactive status. 

3. While the license is inactive, the licensee shall not engage in advanced practice nursing nor be subject to the 

payment of renewal fees. 

4. If the APRN desires to resume practice in this state, he or she shall submit a reinstatement application and meet 

the continuing education requirements.  

 

J.    RETIRED ADVANCED PRACTICE REGISTERED NURSE 

1. Any advanced practice registered nurse in good standing, who desires to retire for any length of time from the 

practice of nursing in this state shall submit a request and their APRN license shall be placed on retired status. 

2. While retired, the APRN shall not practice advanced practice nursing; however, an APRN with a retired 

license may use the title “Advanced Practice Registered Nurse” or the abbreviation “APRN.” Retired APRNs 

that maintain an active RN or RNP license may practice in the role of a Registered Nurse or Registered Nurse 

Practitioner. 

3. When the licensee desires to resume practice, he or she shall submit a reinstatement application, with a 

reinstatement fee and the active renewal fee. The licensee must also meet those requirements outlined in 

Section III, F. 

4. When disciplinary proceedings have been initiated against a retired licensee, the license shall not be reinstated 

until the proceedings have been completed. 

 
K.   ADDITIONAL CERTIFICATIONS 

1. An APRN who has completed post-masters education for an additional nursing specialty shall: 

a. Submit a request for permission to practice in the new certification area;  

b. Submit evidence of eligibility to sit for the new certification exam from the Board-approved certifying 

body; 

c. Immediately cease practicing in the specialty upon notification of failure of the exam; 

d. Submit results of the certification in the additional specialty directly from the certifying body; 

e. Submit an official transcript or document from a nursing education program that meets the                 

qualifications in Section II of this Chapter verifying the date and degree or certificate conferred. 

2. An APRN who has prescriptive authority shall: 

a.  Prescribe only for patients covered by the original specialty while waiting additional specialty     

 results. 

b.  Submit a collaborative practice agreement which includes the additional certification. 

 
HISTORY: Amended: October 1, 2017 

Amended: December 29, 2018 
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SECTION IV 

CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECK 

 
A. No application for issuance of an initial license will be considered without state and federal criminal background 

checks by the Arkansas State Police and the Federal Bureau of Investigation. 

 

B. Federal background checks originating within the State of Arkansas shall be submitted electronically. 

 

C. Each applicant shall sign a release of information on the criminal background check application and licensure 

applications and shall be solely responsible for the payment of any fees associated with the state and federal 

criminal background checks.  

 

D. Upon completion of the state and federal criminal background checks, the Identification Bureau of the Arkansas 

State Police shall forward all information obtained concerning the applicant in the commission of any offense listed 

in ACA §17-3-102.  

 

E. The state and federal criminal background checks conducted by the Arkansas State Police and the Federal Bureau of 

Investigation shall have been completed no earlier than twelve (12) months prior to the application for an initial 

license issued by the ASBN and at any other time thereafter that the Board deems necessary. 

 

F. The ASBN shall not issue a permanent license until the state and federal criminal background checks conducted by 

the Arkansas State Police and the Federal Bureau of Investigation have been completed. 

 

G. Pursuant to Act 990 of 2019, an individual may petition for a pre-licensure determination of whether the 

individual’s criminal record will disqualify the individual from licensure and whether a waiver may be obtained.  

1. A request for a waiver shall be in writing and accompany the completed application and fees. 

2. All decisions of the Board in response to the petition will be determined by the information provided by the 

individual.   

3. The Board’s response shall state the reason(s) for the decision.  

4. Any decision made by the Board in response to a pre-licensure criminal background waiver petition is not 

subject to appeal. 

 

H. A waiver of the denial of licensure pursuant to the provisions of ACA §17-3-102 is not required for individuals who 

held a valid license on July 24, 2019, an individual who held a valid license on or before July 24, 2019, but failed to 

renew his or her license for any reason; or, an individual who was a student on or before July 24, 2019, in a nursing 

school or program. 

 

I. A request to seek waiver of the denial of licensure pursuant to the provisions of ACA §17-87-312 may be made to 

the ASBN by: 

1. The affected applicant for licensure; or 

2. The person holding a license subject to revocation. 

 

J. The request for a waiver shall be made in writing to the Director or designee within thirty (30)  

calendar days after notification of denial of a license.  The request for waiver shall include, but not be limited to the 

following: 

1. Certified copy of court records indicating grounds for conviction; and 

2. Any other pertinent documentation to indicate surrounding circumstances. 

 

K. If an individual notifies ASBN in writing that he or she desires a hearing regarding their request for a waiver, the 

ASBN will schedule the individual for a hearing pursuant to the Arkansas Administrative Procedures Act. 
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L. In compliance with ACA §17-87-312, whenever a criminal background check is performed on a person under the 

provisions of the criminal background check requirement contained in the Arkansas Code for licensure, the person 

may be disqualified for licensure if it is determined that the person committed a violation of any sexual offense 

formerly proscribed under ACA §§5-14-101 through 5-14-127 that is substantially equivalent to any sexual offense 

presently listed in ACA §§5-14-101 through  5-14-127 and is an offense screened for in a criminal background 

check. 
 HISTORY: Adopted: May 15, 2022 

 

 

SECTION V 

NAME OR ADDRESS CHANGE 

 
A. A licensee, whose name is legally changed, shall submit a name change request, copy of marriage license, or court 

action, and the required fee. 

 

B. A licensee whose address changes from the address on file with the Board shall immediately notify the Board in 

writing of the change.  

 
HISTORY: Amended: June 4, 2021 

 

 

SECTION VI 

STANDARDS OF NURSING PRACTICE 

 
A. PURPOSE 

1. To establish standards essential for safe practice by the advanced practice registered nurse. 

2. To serve as a guide for evaluation of advanced nursing practice. 

 

B.  STANDARDS FOR ALL CATEGORIES OF ADVANCED PRACTICE REGISTERED NURSING 

1. The advanced practice registered nurse shall assess clients at an advanced level, identify health status 

including abnormal conditions, establish a diagnosis, develop and implement treatment plans and evaluate 

client outcomes. 

2. The advanced practice registered nurse shall use advanced knowledge and skills in teaching and guiding 

clients and other health team members. 

3. The advanced practice registered nurse shall use critical thinking and decision making at an advanced level, 

commensurate with the autonomy, authority, and responsibility of his/her practice category. 

4. The advanced practice registered nurse shall have knowledge of the statutes and rules governing advanced 

nursing practice, and function within the legal boundaries of the appropriate advanced practice registered 

nursing category. 

5. The advanced practice registered nurse is authorized to sign the following official documents: 

 a. Certification of disability for patients to receive disabled parking permits or placards from the Office 

 of Motor Vehicle;  

 b. Sports physicals to authorize student athletes to participate in athletic activities;  

 c. Physicals for bus drivers;  

 d. Forms relating to do-not-resuscitate orders;  

 e. Forms excusing a potential jury member due to an illness;  

 f. Death certificate;  

 g. Workers’ compensation forms;  

 h. Forms relating to absenteeism for employment or school purposes; and 

 i.  Authorizations for durable medical equipment. 

6. The advanced practice registered nurse shall recognize the APRN’s limits of knowledge and experience, 

planning for situations beyond expertise, and collaborating with or referring clients to other health care 

providers as appropriate. 
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7. The advanced practice registered nurse shall retain professional accountability for advanced practice nursing 

care when delegating interventions. 

8. The advanced practice registered nurse shall maintain current knowledge and skills in the advanced practice 

nursing category. 

9. Rules which apply to registered nurses are hereby incorporated by reference. 

10.      The APRN shall comply with the standards for registered nurses as specified in Chapter 1. 

                  Standards for a specific role and population focus of APRN supersede standards for registered                       

                  nurses where conflict between the standards, if any, exists. 

 

C.    In addition to the standards, the advanced practice registered nurse shall practice in accordance with the standards 

established by the national certifying body from which the APRN holds his or her certification required for 

licensure. These standards shall have been reviewed and accepted by the Board. 

 

D. ADDITIONAL STANDARDS FOR CRNAs 

 1. The CRNA, acting in the normal course of his/her professional practice, may be authorized by a hospital or 

institution to act as their agent or employee to order the administration of controlled substances under the 

DEA registration of the hospital or institution. 

 2. The CRNA may order nurses to administer drugs preoperatively and/or postoperatively in connection with 

an anesthetic and/or other operative or invasive procedure that will be or has been provided. 

 3. The CRNA may select, obtain, and administer Schedule II drugs only during the perioperative, peri-

obstetrical and medical procedure period. 

 4. The CRNA’s order shall be directly related to the administration of drugs preoperatively and/or 

postoperatively in connection with an anesthetic and/or other operative or invasive procedure that will be or 

has been provided. 

 5. A CRNA who has not been granted authority by a DEA registrant as described in Title 21 CFR 1301.22, or 

its successor to order the administration of controlled substances shall give all orders as verbal orders from 

the supervising physician, dentist, podiatrist, or other person lawfully entitled to order anesthesia. 

 6. The CRNA shall be responsible for complying with all applicable state and federal laws and rules related to 

medications. 

 7. The consulting individual shall remain immediately available for consultation during the delivery of 

anesthesia for diagnosis, consultation, and treatment of medical conditions. The hospital’s administrative 

staff, medical staff, and governing body shall determine the guidelines on immediately available for 

consultation. 

 
HISTORY: Amended January 1, 2018 

Amended July 1, 2020; May 15, 2022 

 

 

SECTION VII 

PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATION PROGRAMS 

 
A. A national certification program which meets the following criteria shall be recognized by the Board to satisfy 

Section II of these rules. 

 

B. The national certification program: 

1. Is national in the scope of its credentialing; 

2. Is accredited by a national accreditation body as acceptable by the Board; 

3. Has no requirement for an applicant to be a member of any organization; 

4. Has an application process and credential review which includes documentation that the applicant’s education 

is in the advanced practice nursing category being certified, and that the applicant’s clinical practice is in the 

certification category; 

5. Education requirements are consistent with the requirements of the advanced practice role and population foci. 

6. Uses an examination as a basis for certification in the advanced practice nursing category which meets the 

following criteria: 
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a. The examination is based upon job analysis studies conducted using standard methodologies 

acceptable to the testing community; 

b.       The examination represents entry-level practice in the APRN role and population focus; 

c. The examination represents the knowledge, skills, and abilities essential for the delivery of safe and 

effective advanced nursing care to clients; 

d. The examination content and its distribution are specified in a test plan (blueprint), based on the job 

analysis study, that is available to examinees; 

e. Examination items are reviewed for content validity and correct scoring using an established 

mechanism, both before use and periodically;  

f. Examinations are evaluated for psychometric performance; 

g The passing standard is established using acceptable psychometric methods, and is re-evaluated at 

least every five (5) years; 

h. Examination security is maintained through established procedures; and 

i. A retake policy is in place. 

7. Issues certification based upon passing the examination and meeting all other certification requirements; 

8. Provides for periodic recertification which includes review of continued education, qualifications, and 

continued competence; 

9. Has mechanisms in place for communication to the Board for timely verification of an individual’s 

certification status, changes in certification status, and changes in the certification program, including 

qualifications, test plan, and scope of practice;  

10. Has an evaluation process to provide quality assurance in its certification program. 

 

C.     The Board will notify the appropriate certifying body when an APRN has disciplinary action taken on their license 

or privilege to practice which restricts the APRN’s ability to practice (eg. suspension or revocation).  

 
Amended: July 1, 2020 

HISTORY: Amended December 29, 2018 

 

SECTION VIII 

PRESCRIPTIVE AUTHORITY 

 
A. INITIAL APPLICANT 

An applicant for an initial certificate of prescriptive authority shall: 

1. Be currently licensed as an advanced practice registered nurse in Arkansas. 

2. Provide evidence from the national certifying body that differential diagnosis and prescribing practices are 

recognized as being within the scope of practice for the applicant’s certification category. 

3. Provide documentation of successful completion of pharmacology coursework which shall include 

pharmacokinetics principles and their clinical application and the prescription of pharmacological agents in 

the prevention and treatment of illness, and the restoration and maintenance of health.  The coursework shall 

contain a minimum of: 

a. Three (3) graduate credit hour pharmacology course offered by an accredited college or university 

within two years immediately prior to the date of application to the Board; or 

b. Forty-five (45) contact hours [a contact hour is fifty (50) to sixty (60) minutes] in a pharmacology 

course which includes a competency component, offered by an accredited college or university, within 

two (2) years immediately prior to the date of application to the Board; or 

c. Three (3) graduate credit hours pharmacology course, included as part of an advanced practice nursing 

education program, within five (5) years immediately prior to the date of application to the Board.  

4. Provide documentation of a minimum of three hundred (300) clock hours preceptorial experience in the 

prescription of drugs, medicines and therapeutic devices with a qualified preceptor, to be initiated with the 

pharmacology course and to be completed within one year of the beginning of the course.  Preceptorial 

experience completed as a part of the formal educational program in which the pharmacology course is 

taught will meet the three hundred (300) clock hour requirement. 

5.       Submit a collaborative practice agreement, unless exempt by Section IX, with a practicing physician who is 

licensed under the Arkansas Medical Practices Act, §17-95-201 et seq., or a podiatrist licensed by the 

Arkansas Board of Podiatric Medicine under Arkansas Code Annotated §17-96-101, et. seq., if employed by 
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the podiatrist, and who has training within the scope, specialty or expertise of the advanced practice 

registered nurse.  APRNs who will prescribe controlled substances shall seek a collaborative practice with a 

physician or podiatrist who has an unrestricted DEA registration number.  The collaborative practice 

agreement shall include, but not be limited to: 

a. Availability of the collaborating physician(s) or podiatrist for consultation or referral or both; 

b. Methods of management of the collaborative practice, which shall include the use of protocols for  

 prescriptive authority; 

c. Plans for coverage of the health care needs of a client in the emergency absence of the advanced  

 practice registered nurse, podiatrist, or physician; 

d. Provision for quality assurance;  

  e. Authorization for the APRN to prescribe hydrocodone combination products which were reclassified  

   from Schedule III to Schedule II as of October 6, 2014 if expressly authorized by the collaborating   

   physician; and 

  f. Authorization for the APRN to prescribe drugs listed in Schedule II subject to the provisions in  

Section VIII(D) if expressly authorized by the collaborating physician or podiatrist. 

g. Signatures of the advanced practice registered nurse and collaborating physician(s) or podiatrist, 

signifying mutual agreement to the terms of the collaborative practice.  

6.    Submit the nonrefundable processing fee with the application for a certificate of prescriptive authority. 

 

B. ENDORSEMENT APPLICANT 

1. An applicant for endorsement of prescriptive authority shall: 

a. Provide documentation of a three (3) graduate credit hour pharmacology course offered by an 

accredited college or university or a forty-five (45) contact hour [a contact hour is fifty (50) to sixty 

(60) minutes] pharmacology course which includes a competency component offered by an accredited 

college or university; 

b. Provide evidence that prescriptive authority is current and unencumbered in the jurisdiction from 

which the applicant is moving; 

c. Provide evidence of prescribing in a clinical setting for at least 500 hours in the year prior to 

application for a certificate of prescriptive authority; 

d. Have an unencumbered advanced practice registered nurse license to practice or the equivalent in the 

jurisdiction from which the applicant is moving; 

e. Provide a copy of current DEA registration (if prescriber has DEA number) and history of registration 

status; and 

f. Meet requirements in Section VIII.A.1, 2, 5, 6, 7. 

2. Endorsement applicants who do not meet all requirements established herein shall be required to submit 

documentation acceptable to the Board according to Section VIII.A. 

 

C. PROTOCOLS FOR PRESCRIPTIVE AUTHORITY 

1.    Protocols are required for all APRNs practicing under a collaborative practice agreement. 

2.             Protocols shall be made available upon request of the Board. Such protocols shall, at a minimum, include: 

a. Indications for and classifications of legend drugs, controlled substances (if prescriber holds a DEA 

registration number), and therapeutic devices which will be prescribed or administered by the APRN; 

b. Date the protocol was adopted or last reviewed, which shall be at least annually. 

 

D.  PRESCRIBING PRIVILEGES 

1. The APRN, applying for a certificate of prescriptive authority, shall acknowledge in the application that he 

or she is familiar with all state and federal laws and rules regarding prescribing, and shall agree to comply 

with these laws and rules. 

2. An advanced practice registered nurse with a certificate of prescriptive authority may receive and prescribe 

legend drugs, medicines or therapeutic devices appropriate to the APRN ‘s area of practice.  The prescriptive 

authority for controlled drugs shall extend to drugs listed in Schedules II through V and hydrocodone 

combination products which were reclassified from Schedule III to Schedule II as of October 6, 2014. 
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3. Prescribing stipulations are as follows: 

a. Legend drugs, therapeutic devices, and controlled substances (Schedules II-V), and hydrocodone  

  combination products, which were reclassified from Schedule III to Schedule II as of October 6, 2014,  

  will be prescribed, administered, or ordered as established in protocols provided that the APRN has an  

  assigned DEA registration number which is entered on each written prescription for a controlled  

  substance. 

b. Except as provided below, the APRN shall provide a prescription for an opioid antagonist when 

prescribing or dispensing an opioid when: 

(1) the patient doesn’t have an existing prescription for an opioid antagonist; and 

(2) the opioid dosage prescribed is equal to or in excess of fifty morphine milligram equivalents (50 

MME) per day; or 

(3) a benzodiazepine has been prescribed for the patient in the past or will be prescribed at the same 

time as the opioid; or 

(4) the patient has a history of opioid use disorder or drug overdose.  

 c.       The APRN may directly or by standing order prescribe, dispense, and supply an opioid antagonist to 

any person authorized in ACA§ 20-13-1804. 

d.  The APRN shall provide patient counseling that addresses the use of an opioid antagonist for overdose 

prevention.  

e.  Prescribing an opioid antagonist does not apply to a patient receiving hospice or other end-of-life care. 

f.  If a healthcare professional does not believe that it is in the best interest of a patient to coprescribe an 

opioid antagonist, the APRN shall document in the medical record the reasons for not coprescribing 

the opioid antagonist. 

g.  Except for hydrocodone combination products, the APRN shall not prescribe Schedule II opioids for 

more than a five (5) day period. If additional Schedule II opioids are needed for management of pain, 

the patient shall be referred to a physician. 

h. The APRN is authorized to prescribe Schedule II drugs that are classified as stimulants once the 

following criteria are met: 

 1)      The prescription was originally initiated by a physician; 

 2)  The physician has evaluated the patient within six (6) months before the APRN                                

                    issues a prescription; 

 3)      The prescription by the APRN is to treat the same condition as the original prescription. 

i.  The APRN shall not prescribe Schedule II controlled substances for his/her own use or for the use of   

his/her immediate family. 

j. The APRN shall file his/her DEA registration number with the Board upon receipt. 

k. Advanced practice registered nurses shall not delegate to unlicensed ancillary staff the calling in of 

           prescriptions to the pharmacy. 

l. The APRN who does not have full practice authority shall notify the Board in writing within seven (7) 

days following termination of the collaborative practice agreement.  A new collaborative practice 

agreement is required to be on file prior to reactivating prescriptive authority. 

4.    The APRN who does not have full practice authority may prescribe a legend drug, medicine or therapeutic 

devices not included in the written protocols only as follows: 

a. Upon a specific written or verbal order obtained from a physician or podiatrist before the prescription 

or order is issued by the APRN; and 

b.  Include documentation of consultation as described above in the client’s medical record to be signed  

  by the APRN; 

c.  Schedule I controlled substances shall not be prescribed under the APRN’s certificate of prescriptive  

 authority.  

5. The APRN shall note prescriptions on the client’s medical record and include the following information: 

a. Medication and strength; 

b. Dose; 

c. Amount prescribed; 

d. Directions for use; 

e. Number of refills; and 

f. Initials or signature of APRN. 
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6. The APRN will keep accurate records to include the medical history, physical examination, other evaluations 

and consultations, treatment plan objective, informed consent noted in the patient record, treatment, 

medications given, agreements with the patient and periodic reviews. 

7. The APRN will periodically review the course of scheduled drug treatment of the patient and any new 

information about etiology of the pain. If the patient has not improved, the APRN may assess the 

appropriateness of continued prescribing of scheduled medications or dangerous drugs, or trial of other 

modalities. 

8. The APRN will obtain written informed consent from those patients he or she is concerned may abuse 

controlled substances and discuss the risks and benefits of the use of controlled substances with the patient, 

his or her guardian, or authorized representatives.  

9. Advanced practice registered nurses in the category of certified registered nurse anesthetists shall not be 

required to have prescriptive authority to provide anesthesia care, including the administration of drugs or 

medicines necessary for such care. 

10. Advanced practice registered nurses who prescribe prior to obtaining a certificate of prescriptive shall be 

considered illegal practitioners and shall be subject to the penalties provided for violation of the Nurse 

Practice Act. 

 

E.   PRESCRIPTION FORMAT 

1. All prescriptions issued by the APRN shall contain the name of the client, and the APRN’s name, title, 

address, telephone number, signature with the initials “APRN” and shall include information contained in 

Subsection D.5.a-f of this Section. 

2.      All prescriptions for controlled substances shall be in accordance with federal rules.  The APRN’s assigned 

DEA registration number shall be included on the prescription when a controlled substance is prescribed. 

 

F.   RECEIVING PREPACKAGED DRUG SAMPLES 

1. APRNs who have an active prescriptive authority certificate may receive legend drug samples and 

therapeutic devices appropriate to their area of practice, including controlled substances contained in 

Schedules III through V and only hydrocodone combination products, which were reclassified from Schedule 

III to Schedule II as of October 6, 2014, which have been prepared, packaged, or fabricated by a 

pharmaceutical manufacturer in accordance with the Arkansas pharmacy laws and rules. 

2.       Records must comply with all applicable federal and state laws and rules. 

 

G.  TERMINATION OF PRESCRIPTIVE AUTHORITY 

1. Prescriptive authority may be terminated by the Board when the prescriber: 

  a. Fails to maintain current active licensure as an advanced practice registered nurse; 

  b. Violates provisions of this Act and/or Rules established by the Arkansas Department of Health, 

Nursing or Pharmacy Boards; 

 c. Violates any state or federal law or rules applicable to prescriptions; or 

 d. Fails to follow any conditions imposed. 

2.      To reinstate prescriptive authority, the APRN must meet requirements of the Board at the time of 

reinstatement. 

 

H. LAPSED CERTIFICATE OF PRESCRIPTIVE AUTHORITY 

1. The certificate of prescriptive authority is lapsed if: 

 a.  The licensee’s active advanced practice registered nurse license is not renewed by the expiration date; 

 b.  The national certification upon which licensure is based expires; 

c The advanced practice license is placed on inactive or retired status or 

d. There is not a current collaborative practice agreement, if required, on file with the board 

2.   Any person engaged in prescribing during the time his or her certificate of prescriptive authority has lapsed 

shall be considered an illegal practitioner and shall be subject to the penalties provided for violation of the 

Nurse Practice Act. 

 

I. INACTIVE STATUS 

1.     A certificate of prescriptive authority will automatically be considered lapsed and subject to the requirements 

of these rules when a licensee places his or her advanced practice registered nurse license on inactive status. 
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2.     While the certificate of prescriptive authority or advanced practice registered nurse license is inactive, the 

licensee shall not engage in any practice within the scope of the certificate of prescriptive authority. 

3.     If the nurse desires to resume practice in this state, he or she shall request a renewal application which shall 

be completed and submitted with a renewal fee and the reinstatement fee.  Fees are nonrefundable. 

4.    All certification requirements for renewal shall apply. 

5.    If disciplinary proceedings on an inactive licensee have been initiated, the license shall not be reinstated until 

the proceedings have been completed. 

 

J. REACTIVATION OF PRESCRIPTIVE AUTHORITY 

APRNs whose prescriptive authority is inactive shall complete:  

1.        Five (5) contact hours of pharmacotherapeutics continuing education in the APRN’s area of certification for 

each 12 months of non-prescribing activity in addition to the five (5) contact hours required for APRN 

license renewal, as noted in Chapter 4, III(F)(7), prior to reactivation of prescriptive authority. 

2.        Two (2) contact hours shall include information on maintaining professional boundaries and the prescribing 

rules and laws that apply to the APRNs in the state of Arkansas  

 

K. PRESCRIPTION DRUG MONITORING PROGRAM 

1. APRNs may delegate access to the Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP) for running requested 

reports. 

2. APRNs with prescriptive authority shall review PDMP report from the Prescription Drug Monitoring 

Program prior to prescribing:  

a. An opioid from Schedule II or Schedule III every time prescribing the medication to a patient; and 

b. A benzodiazepine medication for the first time and every six (6) months thereafter prescribing for a 

patient; and 

c. A stimulant from schedule II for the first time and every six (6) months thereafter prescribing for a 

patient. 

3. Review of the PDMP report shall be documented in the patient’s medical record. 

4. Mandatory checking of the PDMP does not apply when prescribing a controlled substance to a patient; 

a. Immediately before or during surgery; or 

b. During recovery from surgery while in a healthcare facility; or 

c. In a healthcare facility; or 

d. When necessary to treat a patient in an emergency situation at the scene of an emergency, in a licensed 

ground ambulance or air ambulance, or in the intensive care unit of a licensed hospital; or 

e. In palliative care or hospice; or 

f. In a licensed nursing home facility; or  

g. In situations in which the PDMP is not accessible due to technological or electrical failure. 

 
HISTORY: Amended January 1, 2018 

Amended July 1, 2020 

 

 

SECTION IX 

FULL PRACTICE AUTHORITY 

 

A. Certified Nurse Midwife 

1. A collaborative practice agreement is not required unless the Certified Nurse Midwife prescribes Schedule II 

controlled substances. 

2. If delivering infants outside an accredited facility the Certified Nurse Midwife shall have an agreement, with a 

licensed physician or facility, or both, which identifies an arrangement for referral and consultation in the event 

of a medical complication. The agreement shall be made available to the Board upon request. 

3. A certificate of prescriptive authority shall be issued prior to prescribing any legend drug, medicine or 

therapeutic device. 

 

B. Certified Nurse Practitioner or Clinical Nurse Specialist 

1. Qualifications 
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a. Currently be licensed as a Certified Nurse Practitioner or Clinical Nurse Specialist in Arkansas, 

b. Have no encumbrance on any nursing license in any jurisdiction, 

c. Completed a minimum of six thousand two hundred (6,240) hours of practice: 

i. Under a board-required agreement with a physician; or 

ii. In another state, territory, or foreign country that authorizes a certified nurse practitioner or a 

clinical nurse specialist to practice with prescriptive authority if the certified nurse practitioner or 

clinical nurse specialist provides proof of licensure in good standing; and 

d. Holds an active prescriptive authority certificate. 

2. Scope of Practice 

a. Receive and prescribe drugs, medications or therapeutic devices appropriate for area(s) of approved 

population foci. 

b. Prescribing legend drugs and controlled substances shall follow the provisions in ASBN Rules, Chapter 

4, Section VIII(D). 

3. An applicant for initial full independent practice authority shall submit: 

a. An application and applicable fees; 

b. An affidavit of successful completion of six thousand two hundred (6,240) hours of practice 

i. under a board-required agreement with a physician; or 

ii. prescribing in a full practice authority state; and 

c. Any other relevant information requested by the Board or Full Independent Practice Credentialing 

Committee. 

4. Certificates of full independent practice authority shall be renewed every three (3) years. The applicant shall: 

a. Submit an application and applicable fees, and 

b. Any other relevant information requested by the Board or Full Independent Practice Credentialing 

Committee 

5. Lapsed full independent practice authority certificate 

a. The certificate of full independent practice authority is lapsed if: 

1) The licensee’s certificate of prescriptive authority is lapsed; or 

2) The renewal application for full independent practice authority has not been approved. 

b. The Certified Nurse Practitioner or Clinical Nurse Specialist may practice under a collaborative practice 

agreement until the full independent practice certificate is renewed.  

6. Complaints against a Certified Nurse Practitioner or Clinical Nurse Specialist with full independent practice 

authority shall be referred to the Full Independent Practice Credentialing Committee for review and action on 

the certificate of full independent practice authority. 

7. In the office of practice, the Certified Nurse Practitioner or Clinical Nurse Specialist shall conspicuously 

display the current certificate of full independent practice authority with notation the practitioner is not required 

to have a collaborative practice agreement with a physician. 

 
HISTORY: Adopted May 15, 2022 

 

 

SECTION X 

PRESCRIBING GUIDELINES FOR ANOREXIANT DRUGS 

 
An Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (APRN) must maintain prescribing medication practices that are within the 

APRN’s educational preparation and certification.  An APRN will be in violation of the Arkansas Nurse Practice Act if 

he/she prescribes Schedule III and/or Schedule IV drugs under the Uniform Controlled Substance Act for short-term 

treatment of obesity, except in conformity with the requirements as set below. 

 

A. PRESCRIBING GUIDELINES 

1.    An established APRN/patient relationship shall exist. The patient shall be age 18 or older, or have written 

consent from a parent or guardian. The medication shall only be an adjunct to a comprehensive weight loss 

program focused on appropriate nutrition education, a change in lifestyle, counseling, and an individualized 

exercise program. The APRN shall determine whether or not the patient has made a substantial good faith 

effort to lose weight through diet and alteration of lifestyle prior to beginning drug therapy.  
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2.    The treating APRN shall take a complete history of the patient, including a detailed family history, dietary 

history, and shall perform a complete physical examination. The physical examination shall include a 

minimum of checking the blood pressure and pulse, examining the heart and lungs, recording height and 

weight, and administering any other appropriate diagnostic tests to evaluate for a metabolic disorder. The 

history and examination shall be sufficient to determine if the patient has previously been drug dependent, to 

determine if there is a metabolic cause of the obesity which would make anorexiant drugs inappropriate, and 

to determine if there are other contraindications to use of anorexiant drugs exists.   

3.    The APRN shall discuss with the patient different approaches to the treatment of obesity, and the risks and 

benefits associated with each approach. Risks shall include potential side effects, such as cardiovascular and 

pulmonary complications, as well as the potential for lack of success with weight loss. The APRN shall be 

aware of potential drug interactions between anorexiants, and other centrally acting drugs. The treating 

APRN shall prescribe a diet for weight loss and appropriate counseling regarding lifestyle change, and record 

these changes on the patient’s medical record. Consideration on the use of anorexiant medications shall take 

into account the degree of overweight and associated medical conditions. The body mass index (BMI) shall 

be used as a guide to determine the degree of overweight status. In general, anorexiant medications shall only 

be used if the BMI is more than 27. In the case of associated obesity-related medical conditions, anorexiant 

medications may be considered with a BMI above 25. Obesity-related medical conditions include, but are not 

limited to, diabetes, hypertension, dyslipidemia, cardiovascular disease, sleep apnea, psychological 

conditions, disc disease, and severe arthritis of the lower extremities.  

4.    The treating APRN shall prescribe a daily dosage that does not exceed the dosage recommended in the 

manufacturer’s prescribing information for the drug prescribed. 

5.    The APRN shall not prescribe more than a 30-day supply for a patient at each visit and regular follow-up 

visits shall not exceed 30 days. The patient shall be weighed at each visit prior to the prescribing of an 

additional supply of the drug. 

6.    At the time of each return patient visit, the treating APRN shall monitor progress of the patient. The patient’s 

weight, blood pressure, pulse, heart, and lungs shall be assessed. In addition to any side effects of the 

medications, the APRN shall perform appropriate exams and tests to monitor the safety of any weight loss. 

This may include a detailed dietary questionnaire, serum electrolytes, blood glucose, and other tests deemed 

appropriate. The APRN shall discontinue the anorexiant medications when the patient reaches weight loss 

goals. These goals may be defined as a body weight that is no longer considered “obese” (e.g. BMI of less 

than or equal to 27), or an improvement in medical conditions (e.g. normalization of blood glucose).  After 

the goal is reached, the APRN may continue to prescribe anorexiant drugs for up to an additional sixty (60) 

days.  

7.    Except as otherwise provided by this regulation, Schedule III and/or Schedule IV anorexiant drugs are only 

recommended for short-term use (e.g. 90 days). In addition, anorexiant drugs shall not be prescribed to a 

patient with a BMI of less than 27, unless prescribing for obesity-related conditions with a BMI of above 25. 

The treating APRN may extend therapy beyond 90 days under the following conditions: 

a. When the anorexiant drugs are indicated for treatment of diseases other than obesity; and 

b. When, in the APRN’s professional judgment, the treating APRN is assessing and recording significant 

 progress or benefit from the drugs and no adverse effects occur that are related to the treatment.  

 

 

SECTION XI  

PRESCRIPTIVE AUTHORITY ADVISORY COMMITTEE 

 
A. PURPOSE 

The purpose of this committee shall include functioning in an advisory capacity to assist the Board with oversight 

and implementation of the provisions regarding prescriptive authority. 

 

B. COMPOSITION 

The Advisory Committee shall be composed of six (6) members appointed by the Board and approved by the 

Governor.  Four (4) members shall be advanced practice registered nurses with at least three (3) of whom hold 

certificates of prescriptive authority and an active Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) number. One (1) 

committee member shall be a licensed physician who has been involved in a collaborative practice with an advanced 

practice registered nurse for at least five (5) years.  One member shall be a licensed pharmacist who has been 
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licensed for at least five (5) years.  

 

C. TERMS OF OFFICE 

Members shall serve three (3) year terms and may be reappointed.   The Board may remove any advisory committee 

member, after notice and hearing, for incapacity, incompetence, neglect of duty, or malfeasance in office. 

 

D. COMPENSATION 

Advisory committee members shall serve without compensation; but may be reimbursed to the extent special 

monies are appropriated therefore for actual and necessary expenses incurred in the performance of their official 

Board duties.            

 

 

SECTION XII  

NURSING EDUCATION PROGRAMS 

 

A. NEW APRN PROGRAM LEADING TO LICENSURE 

 1. Prerequisite Approval 

  a.         An institution, seeking to establish a new APRN nursing education program leading to   

  licensure, shall submit a letter of intent to the Board. 

  1)    An applicant for an Advanced Practice Registered Nursing (APRN) program shall comply with 

the “Criteria and Procedures for Preparing Proposals for New Programs,” established by the 

Arkansas Department of Higher Education.  

  2)   Appropriate professional accreditation (nursing accrediting organizations recognized by the U.S. 

Department of Education and/or the Council for Higher Education Accreditation) of the new 

APRN program is considered to be deemed status as approved by the Board.  

  b. The institution shall submit: 

   1)    A copy of the curricula plan and course descriptions for Board review within thirty (30) days of  

sending the information to the accrediting body;  

   2)   Other accreditation materials as requested by the Board; and 

   3)  Documentation of accreditation within thirty (30) days of receipt of the report from the     

accrediting body. 

 

B. ESTABLISHED PROGRAM THAT PREPARES GRADUATES FOR LICENSURE 

 1. Continued Full Approval – an established graduate program in advanced practice registered nursing shall 

submit to the Board documentation of the program’s continued national nursing accreditation status within 

thirty (30) days of receipt from the accrediting body.  Receipt of the documentation shall serve as deemed 

status for approval by the ASBN. 

  

C. EDUCATION PROGRAM 

 1.          The education program for advanced practice nursing shall meet the nursing accrediting body standards for 

   advanced practice registered nursing. 

 2. The curriculum plan for advanced practice registered nursing shall include: 

  a. Preparation in one of the four identified APRN roles (CRNA, CERTIFIED NURSE MIDWIFE, 

CNS, and CNP); and 

  b. Preparation in at least one of the approved population foci:  

   1) Family/Individual Across the Lifespan 

   2) Adult-Gerontology 

   3) Neonatal 

   4) Pediatrics 

   5) Women’s Health/Gender-Related 

   6) Psychiatric/Mental Health; and 

  c. Three separate graduate level courses (the APRN Core): 

   1) Advanced physiology and pathophysiology 

   2) Advanced health assessment 

   3) Advanced pharmacology 
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 3. Clinical Experiences 

  a. All graduate or post-graduate programs leading to advanced practice licensure shall have a minimum 

of 500 supervised clinical hours in direct clinical practice during the program.  

  b. APRN programs preparing for two population foci shall have a minimum of 500 supervised clinical 

hours for each population focus.  

  c. Clinical supervision must be congruent with current national professional organizations and nursing 

accrediting body standards applicable to the APRN role and population focus. 

  d. Student clinical experiences shall be congruent with the population focus of the role.  

   

 

SECTION XIII  

PRESCRIBING FOR CHRONIC NONMALIGNANT PAIN 

 
A.   Chronic nonmalignant pain is defined as pain requiring more than three consecutive months of prescriptions for: 

1. An opioid that is written for more than the equivalent of ninety (90) tablets, each containing five (5) 

milligrams of hydrocodone; or 

2. A morphine equivalent dose of more than fifteen mg (15 mg) per day: or 

3. Tramadol – an average dose of two hundred milligrams (200 mg) or greater per day.  

 

B. When opioids are started, the lowest effective dosage should be prescribed. APRNs should use caution when 

prescribing opioids at any dosage and carefully reassess evidence of individual benefits and risks when considering 

increasing dosage to >50 morphine milligram equivalents (MME) per day. APRNs should avoid increasing dosage 

to >90 MME/day or carefully justify a decision to titrate dosage to >90 MME/day. 

 

C. If opioids are prescribed at a level defined by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) as excessive 

(>50 MME/day) the following shall be documented in the patient’s medical record: 

1. Objective findings, which include, but are not limited to, imaging studies, lab testing and results, nerve 

 conduction testing, biopsy, and any other test that would establish pain generating pathology. 

2. Specific reasons for the need to prescribe > 50 MME/day. 

3. Documented alternative treatment plans as well as alternative therapies tried and failed prior to considering 

 chronic opioid therapy. 

4. Documented risk factor assessment detailing that the patient was informed of the risk and addictive nature of 

 the prescribed drug. 

5. Documented assessment of the potential for abuse and/or diversion of the prescribed drug. 

6. Documented review of the Prescription Drug Monitoring report prior to issuing the prescription. 

7. A detailed clinical rational for the prescribing 

 

D. Patient Treatment and Evaluation 

1. The patient shall be evaluated through an in-person examination at least every three (3) months by the APRN 

and at least one (1) time every six (6) months by a physician who is licensed by the Arkansas State Medical 

Board. 

2. A current Prescription Drug Monitoring Program report shall be reviewed at least every six (6) months. The 

review shall be documented in the patient’s medical record. 

3. A current pain contract with the patient shall be maintained and include, at a minimum, requirements for: 

a. Random urine drug screens and 

b. Random pill counts  

 

E. The requirements of this section shall not apply to a patient: 

1. Whose pain medications are being prescribed for a malignant condition: 

2. With a terminal condition; 

3. Who is a resident of a licensed healthcare facility; 

4. Who is enrolled in a hospice program; or 

5. Who is in an inpatient or outpatient palliative care program. 
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HISTORY: Adopted: March 26, 2017 

Amended: January 1, 2018; December 29, 2018 

 

 

SECTION XIV 

MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING A PATIENT RELATIONSHIP 

 

A. The APRN shall establish a proper APRN/patient relationship prior to providing any patient care. 

 

B. A proper APRN/patient relationship, at a minimum requires that: 

1.     The APRN perform a history and an “in person” physical examination of the patient adequate to 

establish a diagnosis and identify underlying conditions and/or contraindications to the treatment 

recommended/provided; OR 

2.     The APRN perform a face-to-face examination using real-time audio or visual telemedicine technology 

that provides information at least equal to such information as would have been obtained by an in-person 

examination; AND 

3.     Appropriate follow-up be provided or arranged, when necessary, at medically necessary intervals. 

 

C. A proper APRN/patient relationship is also deemed to exist in the following situations: 

1.    When treatment is provided in consultation with, or upon referral by another health care provider who has 

an ongoing relationship with the patient, and who has agreed to supervise the patient’s treatment, 

including follow-up care and the use of any prescribed medications. 

2.     On-call or cross-coverage situations arranged by the patient’s health care provider. 

3.     Has access to a patient’s personal health record maintained by a healthcare professional and uses any 

technology deemed appropriate by the healthcare professional, including the telephone, with a patient 

located in Arkansas to diagnose, treat and, if clinically appropriate, prescribe a noncontrolled drug to the 

patient. 

 

D.   Recognizing a Providers duty to adhere to the applicable standard of care, the following situations are    

       hereby excluded from the requirement of this regulation: 

1. Emergency situations where the life or health of the patient is in danger or imminent danger. 

2. Providing information of a generic nature not meant to be specific to an individual. 

3. Providing prescriptions written or medications issued for use in expedited heterosexual partner therapy 

 for the sexually transmitted diseases of gonorrhea and/or chlamydia. 

4. Administration of vaccines containing tetanus toxoid (e.g., DTaP, DTP, DT, Tdap, TD, or TT) or 

 inactive influenza vaccines. 
 

         HISTORY: Adopted: January 1, 2018 

Amended July 1, 2020 

 

 

SECTION XV 

TELEMEDICINE 

 

Requirement for all services provided by APRNs providing care via telemedicine: 

A. An APRN/patient relationship shall be established in accordance with Chapter 4, Section XIV before the 

delivery of services via telemedicine.  A patient completing a medical history online and forwarding it to an 

APRN is not sufficient to establish the relationship, nor does it qualify as store-and-forward technology. 

 

B. The following requirements apply to all services provided by APRNs using telemedicine: 

1. The practice of nursing via telemedicine shall be held to the same standards of care as traditional   

 in-person encounters. 

2. The APRN shall obtain a detailed explanation of the patient’s complaint from the patient or the patient’s 

health care provider. 
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3. If a decision is made to provide treatment, the APRN shall agree to accept responsibility for the care 

of the patient. 

4. If follow-up care is indicated, the APRN shall agree to provide or arrange for such follow-up care. 

5. An APRN using telemedicine may NOT issue a prescription for any controlled substances defined as any 

scheduled medication under schedules III through V and only hydrocodone combination products which 

were reclassified from Schedule III to Schedule II as of October 6, 2014 unless the APRN has seen the 

patient for an in-person exam or unless a relationship exists through consultation or referral; or on-call or 

cross-coverage situations.  

6. The APRN shall keep a documented medical record, including medical history. 

7. At the patient’s request, the APRN shall make available to the patient an electronic or hardcopy version 

of the patient’s medical record documenting the encounter. Additionally, unless the patient declines to 

consent, the APRN shall forward a copy of the record of the encounter to the patient’s regular treating 

health care provider if that health care provider is not the same one delivering the service via 

telemedicine. 

8. Services shall be delivered in a transparent manner, including providing access to information identifying 

the APRN in advance of the encounter, with licensure and board certifications, as well as patient 

financial responsibilities. 

9. If the patient, at the recommendation of the APRN, needs to be seen in person for the current medical 

issue, the APRN shall arrange to see the patient in person or direct the patient to their regular treating 

health care provider.  Such recommendation shall be documented in the patient’s medical record. 

10. APRNs who deliver services through telemedicine shall establish protocols for referrals for emergency 

services. 

11. APRNs providing care via telemedicine to a patient located within the State of Arkansas shall be licensed 

to practice nursing in the State of Arkansas. 

12. Telemedicine may be utilized for group therapy for adults (over the age of 18) who are participants in a 

program or plan authorized and funded under 42 U.S.C. §1396a, if permitted by the Centers for Medicare 

and Medicaid Services. 

 
HISTORY: Adopted: January 1, 2018 

Amended: May 15, 2022 

 

 

SECTION XVI 

LICENSURE FOR UNIFORMED SERVICE MEMBERS, VETERANS AND SPOUSES 

 
A. AUTOMATIC LICENSURE 

1. Temporary permits for individuals listed in Section XVI(A)(2) shall be issued within twenty-four (24) hours 

of receipt of all required documents. 

2. The Board will give preference in the order of processing to applications for full licensure filed by the 

following individuals: 

a. A uniformed service member stationed in the State of Arkansas; 

b. A uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; or 

c. The spouse of a: 

1) Person under (a) or (b) above; or 

2) Uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service 

member’s spouse from accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to 

Arkansas; or 

3) Uniformed service member who is killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of 

duty if the spouse establishes residency in Arkansas. 
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B. EXTENSION OF LICENSURE EXPIRATION DATE 

Upon written request and submission of appropriate documentation, deployed uniformed service member or spouse 

shall be allowed an extension of the expiration date without penalty or assessment of a late fee for renewing the 

nursing license.  The extension shall be effective for one hundred eighty (180) days after the service member or 

spouse returns from active deployment. 

 

C. CONSIDERATION OF MILITARY TRAINING AND EXPERIENCE 

When considering an application for licensure the Board shall: 

1. Consider whether or not the applicant’s military education, training, national certification, service-issued 

credential,  and experience in the practice of nursing is substantially similar to the experience or education 

required for licensure. 

2. Accept the applicant’s military education, training, national certification, service-issued credential,   and 

experience in the practice of nursing in lieu of experience or education required for licensure, if the Board 

determines that the military training and experience is a satisfactory substitute for the experience or 

education required for licensure. 

 

D. WAIVER OF CONTINUING EDUCATION 

1. Upon written request and submission of appropriate documentation the continuing education requirements 

 for license renewal shall be waived for: 

 a.   A uniformed service member deployed; or  

 b.   The spouse of a deployed uniformed service member. 

2. This waiver shall be extended until one hundred eighty (180) days following the date of the uniformed 

 service member’s return from deployment. 
 

 History: Adopted December 29, 2018 

Amended: May 15, 2022 
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