## Occupational Authorizations



No

for the meeting of the ALC-OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING REVIEW SUBCOMMITTEE

Thursday, August 22, 2024 at 2:00 PM

## Arkansas State Board of Registration for Foresters

FORESTER			
Authorization Type:	Registration	# of Individuals Regulated:	408
Entity Division Name:	Forestry Division		
Scope of Practice:	To protect private forest landowners, the Arkansas Board of Registration for Foresters licenses and registers foresters who are qualified, experienced, and maintain their continuing education.		
Statutory Requirement(s):	In Arkansas, "any person using in connection with the person's name or otherwise assuming, using, or advertising any title or description tending to convey the impression that the person is a forester engaged in the practice of forestry on private lands shall be registered" [AR Code 17-31-301 (a)].		

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member's spouse from accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

If NO, the rule establishing the expedited process and procedure:

Rule for Expedited Process and Procedure for Military Service Member or Spouse

Fees & Penalties				
Fee Type	Fee Description	Amount (\$)	Frequency	
Fee	Renewal Fee	\$30.00	Annually	
Fee	Application Fee	\$40.00	Once	
Fee	Exam fee	\$30.00	Once	
Penalty	Late Renewal penalty	\$3.00	Monthly	
Fee	Registration	\$30.00	Once	
dministrative Rules Documents				
Document Type	Document			
Rules	ABORF_Rules_20191001.pdf			
pporting Evidence Documents				

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided

## ALC – Occupational Licensing Review Subcommittee Occupational Entity Questionnaire

Responses to the following questions are due via email to Subcommittee staff no later than the 15<sup>th</sup> of the month immediately preceding the month the occupational authorization is scheduled for review by the Subcommittee.

- Would consumers be at risk of substantial harm if Arkansas did not have this occupational authorization? No What instances of specific and substantial harm have been documented in the past year? None
- How many complaints were made to the occupational entity by consumers being harmed by <u>unauthorized</u> practitioners? None What specific action was taken by the occupational entity? N/A
- How many complaints were made to the occupational entity by consumers being harmed by <u>authorized</u> practitioners? None What specific action was taken by the occupational entity? N/A
- 4. Were any applicants who otherwise met authorization requirements denied an authorization in the past year? No If so, why?
- 5. How much does the occupational entity collect annually in fees? \$23,000, varies year-to-year What are annual expenses? \$5,000, varies year-to-year How much money does the occupational entity have in reserves? \$124,000, varies year-to-year
- 6. If the occupational entity has a positive amount in reserves, when was the last time reserve funds were used? FY22 For what purpose? Database upgrade
- Does the occupational entity have any other sources of revenue? No Could occupational authorization fees be reduced without causing the occupational entity to be underfunded? No
- How many applicants for the occupational authorization fail each year?
  Varies from year-to-year Does the occupational entity track how many applicants that do not progress are veterans, women, or minorities? No
- 9. Can applicants complete the training requirements for this occupational authorization with vocational or non-traditional education (e.g., apprenticeships)? No What percentage of applicants complete apprenticeships? N/A

## ALC – Occupational Licensing Review Subcommittee Occupational Entity Questionnaire

10. In what ways would removal of the occupational authorization or reduction of occupational authorization requirements be harmful to current authorization holders? Arkansas Registered Foresters are currently required to receive annual continuing educational hours which include ethics.