

Occupational Authorizations

for the meeting of the

ALC-OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING REVIEW SUBCOMMITTEE

Thursday, July 18, 2024 at 2:00 PM

Arkansas Dietetics Licensing Board

DIETETICS LICENSING BOARD

Authorization Type: Licensure # of Individuals Regulated: 1150

Entity Division Name: Arkansas Department of Health / Arkansas Dietetics Licensing Board

Scope of Practice: Per A.C.A. 17-83-103(5)

"Dietetics practice" means the integration and application of the principles derived from the sciences of nutrition, biochemistry, food, physiology, management, and behavioral and social sciences to achieve

and maintain people's health through the provision of nutrition care services

Statutory Requirement(s): Per A.C.A 17-83-105(1) (2)

The following acts shall constitute violations of this chapter:

(1) Representing oneself to be a dietitian or licensed dietitian, using the words "dietitian" or

"provisional licensed dietitian" alone or in combination, or using the initials, "L.D." or "P.L.D." or any other letters, words, abbreviations, or insignia indicating that he or she is a dietitian, unless he or she is

duly licensed as such under this chapter;

(2) Practicing or attempting to practice dietetics without having first been licensed or otherwise

permitted under this chapter

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member's spouse from accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Yes

Fees & Penalties			
Fee Type	Fee Description	Amount (\$)	Frequency
Fee	Licensed Dietitian Renewal (Currenlty Reduced to \$3.00)	\$50.00	Annually
Fee	New Licensed Dietitan (Currently Reduced to \$6.00)	\$110.00	Annually
Fee	New Provisional Licensed Dietitian (18 month license) (Can be renewed 1 time w/ Board approval) (Currently Reduced to \$8.00)	\$150.00	Once
Fee	Provisional One-Time Renewal Fee (Can be renewed 1 time w/ Board approval) (Currently reduced to \$8.00)	\$75.00	Once
Penalty	Card Replacement Fee	\$25.00	Once
Penalty	License Renewal (Less Than 90 Days) Late Fee	\$25.00	Once
Penalty	License Renewal (More Than 90 Days) Late Fee	\$50.00	Once
Administrative Rule	es Documents		
Document Type	Document		
Rules	Arkansas Dietetics Licensing Board Rules Revised Final PDF 031424.pdf		
Supporting Evidence	e Documents		

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided

Prepared on: June 17, 2024 Page 1 of 1

ALC – Occupational Licensing Review Subcommittee Occupational Entity Questionnaire ADH - Dietetics Licensing Board

Responses to the following questions are due via email to Subcommittee staff no later than the 15th of the month immediately preceding the month the occupational authorization is scheduled for review by the Subcommittee.

1. Would consumers be at risk of substantial harm if Arkansas did not have this occupational authorization?

The Arkansas Dietetics Licensing Board (ARDLB) was established by the Legislature by Acts 392 of 1989 and amended Acts 786 of 1991 and 250 of 1997 to protect the interests of Arkansas citizens. Consumers would be at risk of substantial harm if this profession was not regulated by a licensing board or agency and if the state did not have this occupational authorization. Licensure and oversite by a licensing agency helps to ensure that consumers are being treated by a dietitian who is competent and clinically trained to properly evaluate and diagnose.

What instances of specific and substantial harm have been documented in the past year? There have been no reported instances of harm documented by the ARDLB in the

2. How many complaints were made to the occupational entity by consumers being harmed by <u>unauthorized</u> practitioners?

There have been no complaints within the past year from consumers who received treatment from an unlicensed person.

What specific action was taken by the occupational entity?

No action was required.

past year.

3. How many complaints were made to the occupational entity by consumers being harmed by <u>authorized</u> practitioners?

The ARDLB has received no complaints since January 2023 of various natures (i.e. dissatisfied with treatment, monetary matters, etc.).

What specific action was taken by the occupational entity?

No action was required.

ALC – Occupational Licensing Review Subcommittee Occupational Entity Questionnaire

4. Were any applicants who otherwise met authorization requirements denied an authorization in the past year?

No

If so, why?

N/A

5. How much does the occupational entity collect annually in fees, and what are annual expenses?

Effective July 1, 2023, application fees were reduced by 95%. As of June 10, 2024, the agency has collected \$17,284.05 in fees etc. Estimated expenditures are \$55,993.53 with balances to be paid for the remainder of the FY.

How much money does the occupational entity have in reserves?

To date, our agency's fund balance is \$315,772.43.

6. If the occupational entity has a positive amount in reserves, when was the last time reserve funds were used?

September 2023

For what purpose?

Pay plan requests for employee compensation.

7. Does the occupational entity have any other sources of revenue?

There is no other source of revenue.

Could occupational authorization fees be reduced without causing the occupational entity to be underfunded?

Application fees, renewal fees, and fines alone fund the agency.

8. How many applicants for the occupational authorization fail each year?

Applicants (dietitians) must pass a written national examination and a clinical examination; the examinations are not administered by our agency. Applicants apply after they have passed the required examinations. The Commission on Dietetic Registration validates education and testing requirements. According to the Commission

ALC – Occupational Licensing Review Subcommittee Occupational Entity Questionnaire

on Dietetic Registration, the dietetics examination has a 72% success rate. 86% of those that do not pass on the first try pass on the second attempt.

Does the occupational entity track how many applicants that do not progress are veterans, women, or minorities?

ARDLB tracks the gender, race, ethnicity, and military status of each applicant. Our records reflect a gender breakdown of our applicants as 95% Female, 5% Male. The records reflect a race / ethnicity breakdown of our applicants as 88% White, 4% Black/ African American, 4% Hispanic, 2.5% Indian, 1.5% Asian.

9. Can applicants complete the training requirements for this occupational authorization with vocational or non-traditional education (e.g., apprenticeships)?

No, there are several educational properties of obtaining a Dietetics License: A bachelor's or master's degree in dietetics, nutrition, or a related field from an accredited program, supervised practice or internship in a health care setting, successful completion of national exam administered by the Commission on Dietetic Registration (CDR), state license or certification, depending on the state regulations, and continuing education to maintain state license and registration.

What percentage of applicants complete apprenticeships?

Since 1990, we have licensed a total of 322 Provisional License (PLD) out of 2915 total Dietetics licensed (11%). These are applicants that have received the required education but have not passed the Dietetics exam. This allows them to practice for 18 months while studying and gaining on the job knowledge to be able to pass the Dietetics exam to become a Licensed Dietitian in the state of Arkansas.

10. In what ways would removal of the occupational authorization or reduction of occupational authorization requirements be harmful to current authorization holders?

The standard of care reflects what is minimally required for prudent and reasonable treatment. Consumers would be at risk of substantial harm if this profession was not regulated by a licensing board or agency and if the state did not have this occupational authorization. Licensure and oversite by a licensing agency helps to ensure that consumers are being treated by a dietitian who is competent and clinically trained to properly evaluate and diagnose.