
 

 

ADMINISTRATIVE RULES SUBCOMMITTEE 

OF THE  

ARKANSAS LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL 

 

Thursday, August 14, 2025 

10:00 a.m. 

Room A, MAC 

Little Rock, Arkansas 

 

____________________________ 
 

A. Call to Order 

 

B. Report on the Acts of the 2025 Regular Session Specifically Requiring New Rulemaking 

 

C. Report from the Executive Subcommittee Concerning an Emergency Rule 

 

D. Reports on Administrative Directives Pursuant to Act 1258 of 2015, for Quarter Ending 

June 30, 2025 (Tawnie Rowell) 

1. Department of Corrections 

2. Post-Prison Transfer Board 

 

E. Rules Filed Pursuant to Arkansas Code § 10-3-309 

1. Arkansas Department of Transportation, State Highway Commission, State Aid 

Street Committee (Steve Morgan, Steve Napper) 

a. Rules of Procedure for the State Aid Street Committee, 27 CAR pt. 160 

DESCRIPTION:  The State Aid Street Committee, in conjunction with the State 

Aid Division of the Arkansas Highway and Transportation Department, has 

statutory authority over the awarding of funding to municipalities for street 

improvements from the State Aid Street Fund. The Committee has approved 

proposed amendments to the Project Criteria Rules that are used to determine 

funding for projects. The substantive amendments to the Rules will (1) increase 

available funding for overlays from $300,000 to $400,000 and (2) increase 

available funding for design projects from $400,000 to $500,000. 

 

Since the 2021 construction season, prices for asphalt have risen significantly 

with some areas of the state experiencing a 50% increase. Increasing construction 

funding from $300,000 to $400,000 for overlays and from $400,000 to $500,000 

for design projects will allow the Committee to meet its goal of at least one mile 

or more of a city street to be improved with each project. 

 

PUBLIC COMMENT:  A public hearing was not held for this matter. The 

public comment period expired March 31, 2025. The agency indicated that it 

received no public comments. 

 

The proposed effective date of this rule is pending legislative review and 

approval. 

 

FINANCIAL IMPACT:  The agency indicated that this rule has no financial 

impact. 
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LEGAL AUTHORIZATION:  Pursuant to Arkansas Code Annotated § 27-72-

405(c)(2) the state aid engineer who heads the State Aid Division, under the 

direction of the Arkansas Department of Transportation, shall promulgate 

uniform and reasonable rules as deemed necessary to effectuate a proper 

designation of state aid streets to be constructed in each municipality and develop 

methods for determining priority of construction, the making of surveys, and the 

preparation of plans and specifications for the construction of state aid streets. 

Further authority can be found in Arkansas Code Annotated § 27-72-413(d), 

which states that the State Aid Street Committee may establish a formula or 

criteria to facilitate the identification and selection of state aid street projects, 

subject to the approval of the state aid engineer and consistent with the 

provisions of Subchapter 4 – State Aid Streets. 

 

2. Department of Commerce, Arkansas Economic Development Commission (Jake 

Windley, Becca Caldwell, Clint O’Neal, Jennifer Emerson) 

a. Community Assistance Grant Program, 15 CAR pt. 181 

DESCRIPTION:  The objective of the Rule is to further the Arkansas Economic 

Development Commission’s goal to create economic opportunity by attracting 

higher paying jobs, expanding and diversifying our state and local economies, 

increasing incomes and investment, and generating positive growth throughout 

Arkansas by providing grant funds to nonprofit organizations in good standing 

with the Secretary of State’s office, cities of the first class, cities of the second 

class, incorporated towns, unincorporated communities, counties, or 

governmental entities of the State of Arkansas for eligible community and 

economic development projects and eligible nonprofit organization projects. 

Eligible project examples include but are not limited to: repair or construction of 

government buildings, community centers, transportation infrastructure, parks, 

libraries, fire-protection equipment, public health facilities, police equipment, 

emergency shelters, county fairs, childcare centers and/or senior centers. The 

Amended Rule increases the grant awards from $50,000 maximum to $1,500,000 

maximum per year and also expands the program to include nonprofit entities 

thereby increasing economic development and growth in the eligible 

communities. 

 

PUBLIC COMMENT:  A public hearing was held on April 29, 2025. The 

public comment period expired on May 15, 2025. The commission indicated it 

received no public comments. 

 

An emergency rule on this subject went into effect April 14, 2025. The agency 

indicated that the emergency rule expired on August 12, 2025. 

 

The proposed effective date is pending legislative review and approval. 

 

FINANCIAL IMPACT:  The agency has indicated that the amended rules do 

not have a financial impact. 

 

LEGAL AUTHORIZATION:  The Arkansas Economic Development 

Commission within the Department of Commerce has the authority under 

Arkansas Code § 15-4-209(b)(5) to “[p]romulgate rules necessary to implement 

the programs and services offered by the commission”. Arkansas Code § 15-4-
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209(a)(1) provides that the commission shall “[a]dminister grants . . . to assist 

with economic development in the state”. Arkansas Code § 15-4-209(a)(5) 

further provides that the commission shall “[a]ssist rural communities and 

agencies with funding, educational opportunities, and technical assistance to 

enhance the quality of life in rural areas of Arkansas”. 

 

3. Department of Education, Division of Elementary and Secondary Education 

(Courtney Salas-Ford) 

a. First Connections Program Under Part C of the Individuals with Disabilities 

Education Act (IDEA), 20 CAR pt. 1002 

DESCRIPTION: The Department of Education, Office of Early Childhood, 

proposes its First Connections Program Under Part C of the Individuals with 

Disabilities Education Act rule. 
Purpose 

The Division of Elementary and Secondary Education (“Division”) Office of 

Early Childhood (OEC) is seeking approval of the proposed amendments to the 

First Connections Program Under Part C of the Individuals with Disabilities 

Education Act (IDEA) rule. 

Background 

Pursuant to Ark. Code § 20-14-503 et seq. and Part C of the IDEA, the Division 

shall adopt the necessary rules to implement these code sections.  Act 237 of 

2023 moved the Office of Early Childhood from the Division of Childcare and 

Early Childhood Education to the Arkansas Department of Education.  This 

amendment changes the rule language to reflect that change. 

Summary of Amendments 

The rules are amended to state the regulatory authority as the Arkansas 

Department of Education, Office of Early Childhood instead of the Division of 

Childcare and Early Childhood Education. 

Discussion 

This draft amendment is an update primarily driven by Act 237 of 2023, which 

moved the Office of Early Childhood from the Division of Childcare and Early 

Childhood Education to the Arkansas Department of Education. 

Post Public Comment 

No public comments were received. 

 

PUBLIC COMMENT:  A public hearing was held on May 7, 2025.  The public 

comment period closed on June 5, 2025.  The agency indicated that it received no 

public comments. 

 

The proposed effective date is pending legislative review and approval. 

 

FINANCIAL IMPACT:  The agency has indicated that the amended rule has no 

financial impact. 

 

LEGAL AUTHORIZATION:  The Office of Early Childhood, within the 

Department of Education, shall be responsible for all programs funded through 

state or federal resources that provide early childhood care or educational 

services, including among other programs, the Individuals with Disabilities 
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Education Act, Pub. L. No. 101-476: Part C for infants and toddlers.1 See 

Arkansas Code § 6-87-101(b).  The State Board of Education shall promulgate 

rules to implement the provisions of Act 237 of 2023, the LEARNS Act, § 58, 

related to the Unified Early Childhood Care and Education System. See Ark. 

Code Ann. § 6-87-101(i).  Additional authority for the rulemaking can be found 

in Ark. Code Ann. § 20-14-503(a), which provides that a statewide system of 

coordinated, comprehensive, multidisciplinary, interagency programs providing 

appropriate early intervention services to all developmentally delayed infants and 

toddlers and their families shall include the minimum components under Ark. 

Code Ann. § 20-14-503(b).  The statewide system required by Ark. Code Ann. 

§ 20-14-503(a) shall include, at a minimum, a single line of responsibility in a 

lead agency designated or established by the Governor for carrying out the 

general administration and supervision of programs and activities receiving 

assistance under [the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act] and the 

monitoring of programs and activities used by the state to carry out Part H of [the 

Act], whether or not such programs or activities receive Part H assistance, to 

ensure that the state complies with the requirements of Part H of [the Act]. See 

Ark. Code Ann. § 20-14-503(b). 

 

According to the agency, these rules are also required to comply with federal 

law, namely the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), Part C, 

which concerns infants and toddlers with disabilities. See 20 U.S.C. §§ 1431 – 

1444. 

 

The rule implements Act 237 of 2023, § 58, sponsored by Senator Breanne 

Davis, which created the LEARNS Act and amended various provisions of the 

Arkansas Code as they relate to early childhood through grade twelve (12) 

education in the State of Arkansas. 

 

b. Rules Governing the Public School Rating System on Annual School 

Performance Reports and the School Recognition Program, 6 CAR pt. 64 

DESCRIPTION:  The Department of Education, Division of Elementary and 

Secondary Education, proposes its Rules Governing the Public School Rating 

System on Annual School Performance Reports and the School Recognition 

Program. 

Purpose 

Pursuant to Act 474 of 2025, the Department is required to establish a new 

accountability system pursuant to rulemaking authority established in Arkansas 

Code Annotated § 6-15-2106.  This rule will ensure improvements are made to 

the accountability system to better agency priority and the LEARNS Act’s goals 

of improving k-12 education in Arkansas. 

Key Points 

• Updates the rule governing school ratings to set defined parameters with 

technical minutiae removed consistent with the Code of Arkansas Rules style. 

 
1 Pursuant to Act 237 of 2023, § 58, the administration of programs funded through Part C of the Individuals with 

Disabilities Education Act that were previously overseen by the Division of Child Care and Early Childhood 

Education within the Department of Human Services was transferred to the Office of Early Childhood within the 

Department of Education. See also Act 237 of 2023, § 71.  

https://plus.lexis.com/document/?pdmfid=1530671&crid=c5b35172-ed6a-4d6a-8700-e2b24433fdd2&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4WVG-2DM0-R03N-V20M-00000-00&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAUAACAAJAAGAAE&ecomp=bfJkk&prid=242f5208-fbfb-4c3b-ad9c-3892ac220f09
https://plus.lexis.com/document/?pdmfid=1530671&crid=c5b35172-ed6a-4d6a-8700-e2b24433fdd2&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4WVG-2DM0-R03N-V20M-00000-00&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAUAACAAJAAGAAE&ecomp=bfJkk&prid=242f5208-fbfb-4c3b-ad9c-3892ac220f09
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• Updates the rule to reflect the combination of the Arkansas School for the Blind 

and the Arkansas School for the Deaf and Hearing Impaired to the Arkansas 

School for the Deaf and Blind. 

• Complies with the statutory requirements and allows the division to better tailor 

the rating system to ensure fair and accurate information to Arkansans regarding 

the state of Arkansas Schools. 

Discussion 

This rule is promulgated to allow the agency to comply with Act 474 of 2025, 

which requires that the ADE establish an accountability system for public 

schools.  In addition, rulemaking will allow important updates to the school 

rating system to better reflect the relative academic growth and achievement in 

Arkansas Schools. 

 

PUBLIC COMMENT:  A public hearing was held on May 22, 2025.  The 

public comment period closed on June 10, 2025.  The agency provided the 

following summary of public comments: 

 

Commentor Name: Dr. Nancy Churchwell, Chief Financial Officer, Newport 

School District 

COMMENTS: Good morning. For Title 6. Education Chapter I. Division of 

Elementary and Secondary Education Subchapter C. Educational Quality, 

Standards, and Assessment Part 64. Rules Governing the Public School Rating 

System on Annual School Performance Reports and the School Recognition 

Program Subpart 1.  Generally, 6 CAR § 64-102. School rating system. Item 2) 

(2) The Division shall implement an “Automatic Grading Scale Increase” in any 

year in which 65 percent or more of the school statewide aggregate earn a grade 

of A or B, and raise the scale required to earn a school grade by five percent until 

the scale reaches 90-100 = A, 80-89 = B, 70-79 = C, 60-69 = D, and 0-59 = F.  

This section sets 59% of school districts up for receiving a grade of F and another 

10% of districts to receive a grade of D.  When giving a test in a classroom, you 

do not grade based on rank, you give a grade based on individual performance on 

each item.  This automatic grading scale increase is unfair to districts working to 

improve their letter grade.  Furthermore, this means that the rest of the country 

will see that more than half of Arkansas School Districts are failing.  I do not 

believe this is the image we want to promote, when school districts across the 

state are working exceptionally hard to improve academic success of all students.  

Furthermore, with the school choice laws currently in effect, this requirement is a 

violation of Lake View School District No. 25 v. Huckabee. School funding is 

based on student enrollment.  Students will leave these “Failing” schools and flee 

to the “A” & “B” schools.  This will lead to inadequate and inequitable funding 

for these districts.  If each school has a fair opportunity to reach “A” or “B” 

status, I believe this proposed rule would be in compliance with the Lake View 

standard.  Thank you for taking the time to consider this comment. 

RESPONSE: Comments considered; No changes made.  All schools do still 

maintain the ability to reach an A or B letter grade by increasing the percentage 

of students who meet the criteria for each indicator.  The automatic escalator 

does not prevent a school from earning points.  If 65% are earning an A or B then 

that would leave 35% in C, D or F. 
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Commenter Name: Christy Hovantez, Ph.D., Senior Policy Fellow, ExcelinEd 

COMMENTS: Dear Secretary Oliva, Chair Moore and members of the 

Arkansas Board of Education: I am writing to submit the Foundation for 

Excellence in Education’s (ExcelinEd) comments regarding the proposed “DESE 

Rules Governing the Public-School Rating System on Annual School 

Performance Reports and the School Recognition Program.”  ExcelinEd has 

close to two decades of experience working with states across the nation on 

school accountability systems and we respectfully offer the following 

recommendations to improve Arkansas’ current proposal.  School grades should 

provide transparent, objective and easily understood data to parents, educators 

and the public to spur improvement and student learning to prepare them for the 

challenges of college, career and civic life.  Pioneered in Florida and in use in 11 

other states across the country, A-F school grading remains a proven and 

effective accountability tool.  The proposed rules streamline and improve 

Arkansas’ A-F school accountability calculation in many ways: 

• Moving to a straight percent proficient/advanced calculation for ELA, math and 

science increases transparency and focuses on a meaningful outcome for 

students—proficiency. 

• The added focus on the lowest performing students ensures no student will be 

left behind. 

• Using only the four-year graduation rate signals the expectation to graduate on 

time. 

• The overall A-F grading scale is aspirational, yet attainable with the inclusion 

of an automatic grading scale increase to raise the bar when schools demonstrate 

success to ensure performance will not stagnate. 

 

However, one policy approach is preventing the Arkansas school grading 

calculation from being exceptional: the use of a normative value-added model to 

measure student growth.  ExcelinEd strongly encourages the use of a 

criterion-based growth calculation to measure each student’s growth towards 

mastery of the state standards.  The current value-added model makes judgments 

about growth using a normative approach that compares a student’s performance 

to their peers instead of a set standard.  Using a criterion-based calculation 

rewards schools for moving students from a lower achievement level to a higher 

achievement level and is meaningful to the student’s quest to reach proficient and 

advanced achievement. Criterion-based growth benefits include: 

• Educators can compute and replicate growth calculations; 

• Individual student learning expectations are set and measured; None of these 

outcomes can be accomplished with value-added growth because it is a 

normative measure. Drawbacks of value-added models include: 

• Statisticians compute growth generally using a black-box proprietary formula 

that cannot be replicated without statewide student level data; 

• Individual student learning expectations are determined after the student’s state 

assessment results are back; 

• Not all students can demonstrate growth—there will always be winners and 

losers no matter how much state results improve; 

• Criteria for determining individual student growth is determined after the test 

results are back so students, parents, educators and policymakers do not know 

how much a student must improve to demonstrate growth until after the school 

year is over; 
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• The improvement needed for demonstrating growth is different for each 

student; 

• Expectations for demonstrating growth change from year to year making 

longitudinal comparisons impossible; 

• Growth expectations, even if they are met each year, may not result in 

proficient or advanced student achievement. 

 

Arkansas’ neighbors, Louisiana and Mississippi, are exemplars when it comes to 

strong A-F grading models.  Both states have demonstrated improved student 

outcomes as a result of their commitment to meaningful school accountability 

systems.  Arkansas has the opportunity to create an exceptional school grading 

model that will spur action within the walls of each school and make a difference 

for students.  We encourage the state to continue and strengthen its commendable 

efforts to disrupt the status quo and transform education on behalf of each and 

every Arkansas student. RESPONSE: Comments considered; No changes made.  

There are various methods and formulas for calculating growth scores.  In 

Arkansas, a comprehensive working group consisting of educators from 

Arkansas and technical experts was established to address this issue.  The 

committee recommended continuing with the Value-Added Model (VAM) to 

calculate growth.  Stakeholders concluded that the VAM model effectively 

accounts for individual student growth scores and aligns well with the overall 

performance metrics at the teacher, school, and district levels. 

 

Commenter Name: Amanda Dawson, Senior Director State and District 

Partnerships, College Board 

COMMENTS: Good afternoon, we appreciate the opportunity to submit the 

attached comments regarding the pending rules governing Arkansas’s Public 

School Rating System on Annual School Performance Reports and the School 

Recognition Program. Dear Secretary Oliva, on behalf of the College Board, a 

nonprofit mission-driven organization that connects students to college success 

and opportunity, I’m writing to provide feedback on the proposed rulemaking for 

the Rules Governing the Public School Rating System. Our comments focus on: 

- The high school indicator in proposed (b)(2)(E), the number of students earning 

a diploma of merit or distinction that lead to enrollment, enlistment, or 

employment; and 

- The annual Public School Rating Business Rules in proposed (d). 

We appreciate the opportunity to provide meaningful feedback and are pleased to 

see the state’s continued commitment to rigorous educational standards and 

meaningful student outcomes. 

 

Feedback on the High School Indicator (b)(2)(E) 

College Board commends and congratulates Arkansas for its unwavering 

dedication to ensuring that every student graduates “success ready.”  The state’s 

commitment to high educational standards and requirements that are meaningful, 

relevant, and rigorous – which also strongly align to College Board’s mission – is 

a sound investment in the well-being and economic vitality of the state.  We 

support the inclusion of the indicator for the number of students earning a 

diploma of merit or distinction that lead to enrollment, enlistment, or 

employment. 
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Feedback on the Annual Public School Rating Business Rules (d) 

Per the current Success-Ready Pathway Guide1, to earn a merit or distinction 

demonstration for a high school diploma, a student must complete a success-

ready pathway and meet additional postsecondary criteria. 

 

In alignment with Arkansas’s dedication to student success, we encourage 

the state, as it considers the business rules to implement the ratings system, 

to: 

• Incorporate current and future AP courses into additional “Success-Ready 

Pathways” and 

• Add AP Career Kickstart employer-endorsed credentials to the state’s 

identified high wage, high demand industry-recognized credential list. 

 

Success-Ready Pathway Options  

College Board is pleased to see that the current guide for “Success-Ready 

Pathway” options include AP Scholar, AP Scholar with Honor, AP Scholar with 

Distinction, and AP Capstone Diploma paths.  These selections further enhance 

student choice and readiness for college and career.  We also are pleased that 

several AP courses – AP Computer Science Principles, AP Computer Science A, 

AP Spanish Language, AP French Language, and AP German Language – are 

included different pathway options. 

We encourage Arkansas to evaluate on a regular basis whether current and 

future AP courses could be positioned in other pathways to ensure 

maximum opportunity for students to earn college credit while working 

towards a diploma demonstration. 

 

AP Career Kickstart Credentials 

College Board is building new AP Career Kickstart courses to accelerate high 

school students on their paths to in-demand careers. AP Career Kickstart exams 

will not only certify college-level work and result in college credit (like 

traditional AP Exams) but will also certify skills valued by industry through an 

employer-endorsed credential.  These credentials are made with and for industry 

to ensure they validate skills that companies value and seek.  College Board is 

growing in industry recognition from leaders like Wells Fargo, Eli Lilly, and 

Nissan, and we are building robust partnership with intermediaries like the US 

Chamber of Commerce and YearUp United to help strengthen the connection to 

opportunities to credential earners.  In Arkansas, College Board has received 

support from local industry and employers, reflecting their confidence in the 

quality and relevance of our credentials.  AP Business Principles/Personal 

Finance and AP Cybersecurity will be launching nationally in the 2026- 2027 

school year and AP Networking will follow in the 2027-2028 school year.  We 

strongly encourage the state to add AP Career Kickstart credentials to the 

state’s “H2 Credentials” to ensure districts and schools are recognized for 

helping students meet qualifying criteria for ratings purposes. College Board 

welcomes the opportunity to work with Arkansas on this effort.  College Board 

thanks the state for the opportunity to provide meaningful feedback on the 

proposed rulemaking for the Rules Governing the Public School Rating System.  

We are hopeful our recommendations will be included to ensure Arkansas 

students, districts, and schools are recognized for their success. 

Sincerely, David Gupta, Vice President, State and District Partnerships College 

Board.  RESPONSE: Comments considered; No changes made. 
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Jason Kearney, an attorney with the Bureau of Legislative Research, asked the 

following question and was provided with the following agency response: 

 

1) In 6 CAR § 64-103(a), which concerns the school recognition program, why 

did the agency remove the language “which includes high school graduation rate 

comparisons for secondary schools” from the description of “high student 

performance and high student academic growth”?  RESPONSE: The Arkansas 

Graduation rate has been steady for a number of years with minimal change.  We 

felt that shifting to a focus on other measures that drive higher student 

performance would lead to better overall student success. 

 

The proposed effective date is pending legislative review and approval. 

 

FINANCIAL IMPACT:  The agency indicates that the proposed rules do not 

have a financial impact. 

 

LEGAL AUTHORIZATION:  Pursuant to Arkansas Code Annotated § 6-15-

2108(d), the Division of Elementary and Secondary Education shall promulgate 

rules to implement Ark. Code Ann. § 6-15-2108, which concerns a school rating 

system.  Further authority for the rulemaking can be found at Ark. Code Ann. 

§ 6-15-2106(a), which provides that the State Board of Education shall adopt 

rules necessary to implement Ark. Code Ann. § 6-15-2101 et seq., which 

concerns a school rating system and annual reports, pursuant to the Arkansas 

Administrative Procedure Act, Ark. Code Ann. § 25-15-201 et seq.  Finally, the 

state board may, by rules adopted under the Arkansas Administrative Procedure 

Act, and reviewed and approved under Ark. Code Ann. § 10-3-309, redesignate 

the levels of performance categories and improvement categories under Ark. 

Code Ann. § 6-15-2101 et seq., to be consistent with: (1) the Arkansas academic 

standards; (2) assessments that correlate with Arkansas academic standards; and 

(3) rules adopted under the requirements of a law enacted by the United States 

Congress for general education, including without limitation the Elementary and 

Secondary Education Act of 1965, Pub. L. No. 89-10, as reauthorized by the 

Every Student Succeeds Act, Pub. L. No. 114-95, or any supplementary federal 

regulations, directives, or decisions of the United States Department of Education 

pertaining to that legislation. See Ark. Code Ann. § 6-15-2106(b). 

 

The proposed amendments are those made in light of Act 474 of 2025, sponsored 

by Representative Keith Brooks, which required the Department of Education to 

establish a new accountability system for public schools and removed public 

schools from school ratings for certain school years. 

 

c. Rules Governing Child Sexual Abuse and Human Trafficking Prevention, 

6 CAR pt. 107 

DESCRIPTION:  The Department of Education, Division of Elementary and 

Secondary Education, proposes its Rules Governing Child Sexual Abuse and 

Human Trafficking Prevention. 

Purpose 

The Division of Elementary and Secondary Education is seeking review of the 

proposed Rules Governing Child Sexual Abuse and Human Trafficking 

Prevention as a result of Section 16 of Act 237 of 2023. 
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Background 

The Division is promulgating rules for the development of child sexual abuse and 

human trafficking prevention standards pursuant to Arkansas Code § 6-16-157.  

The purpose of this rule is to obligate the incorporation of academic standards for 

health and safety into public school districts and open enrollment public charter 

schools.  The rule implements the statutory provision governing the 

implementation of the Child Sexual Abuse and Human Trafficking Prevention 

Program. 

Key Points 

• Implements statutory provision governing the implementation of the child 

sexual abuse and human trafficking prevention program. 

• Adds language regarding Health and Safety Standards, reporting requirements, 

and definitions. 

Discussion 

Act 237 indicated that each public school district and open-enrollment public 

charter school shall implement a child sexual abuse and human trafficking 

prevention program that meets the standards and requirements established by the 

division and provide training for teachers employed by the public school district 

or open enrollment public charter school on child sexual abuse and assault and 

human trafficking. 

 

PUBLIC COMMENT:  A public hearing was held on May 22, 2025.  The 

public comment period closed on June 10, 2025.  The agency has indicated that it 

received no public comments. 

 

Jason Kearney, an attorney with the Bureau of Legislative Research, asked the 

following questions and was provided with the following agency responses: 

 

1) The “Authority” section of the proposed rule references Arkansas Code 

Annotated § 6-21-120, which concerns public school restrooms and designation 

based upon sex.  Does this rule deal with that topic in any way?  

RESPONSE: Because the rule was placed on the Agency’s mandatory rule 

making list but the code section did not explicitly authorize rulemaking, the 

authority section was not as straight forward as is sometimes the case.  The 

statutory text relevant to this rule was in the same section of the Act as the 

section addressing restrooms.  If “section” is read to refer to act section rather 

than code section than this grant of authority is relevant.  It is on this theory that 

the reference is included. 

 

2) Arkansas Code Annotated § 6-16-157(a)(1)(A), which concerns child sexual 

abuse and human trafficking prevention, provides that the division “shall enhance 

or adapt curriculum materials to assist public school personnel in providing 

instruction through a multidisciplinary approach on the detection, intervention, 

prevention, and treatment of child sexual abuse and human trafficking.”  Are the 

proposed rules intended to serve as the “curriculum materials” contemplated in 

the referenced Code section? 

RESPONSE: While curriculum itself is not included in the rulemaking process, 

the incorporation of the relevant academic standard is the tool used to shape the 

curriculum used in schools on a mandatory basis. 
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3)  Arkansas Code Annotated § 6-16-157(a)(2), which concerns child sexual 

abuse and human trafficking prevention, provides that the division “shall ensure 

that curriculum materials developed under [Ark. Code Ann. § 6-16-157(a)(1)(A)] 

are incorporated into the Health and Safety and Physical Education Standards 

developed by the Department of Education in an age-appropriate manner.  Will 

the incorporation of materials contemplated in the referenced Code section 

require an amendment to any of the division’s current rules?  RESPONSE: No, 

Academic standards are not set in rule. 

 

The proposed effective date is pending legislative review and approval. 

 

FINANCIAL IMPACT:  The agency indicates that the proposed rules do not 

have a financial impact. 

 

LEGAL AUTHORIZATION:  The Division of Elementary and Secondary 

Education shall enhance or adapt curriculum materials to assist public school 

personnel in providing instruction through a multidisciplinary approach on the 

detection, intervention, prevention, and treatment of child sexual abuse and 

human trafficking. See Arkansas Code Annotated § 6-16-157(a)(1)(A).  The 

curriculum materials developed under Ark. Code Ann. § 6-16-157(a)(1)(A) shall 

be geared toward a sequential program of instruction from kindergarten through 

grade twelve (K-12) and include strategies for utilizing the curriculum in schools. 

See Ark. Code Ann. § 6-16-157(a)(1)(B).  Further, the division shall ensure that 

curriculum materials developed under Ark. Code Ann. § 6-16-157(a)(1)(A) are 

incorporated into the Health and Safety and Physical Education Standards 

developed by the Department of Education in an age-appropriate manner. See 

Ark. Code Ann. § 6-16-157(a)(2).  Finally, each public school district and open-

enrollment charter school shall implement a child sexual abuse and human 

trafficking prevention program that meets the standards established by the 

division. See Ark. Code Ann. § 6-16-157(b)(1).  

 

The proposed rule implements Act 237 of 2023, § 16, sponsored by Senator 

Breanne Davis, which created the LEARNS Act and amended various provisions 

of the Arkansas Code as they relate to early childhood through grade twelve (12) 

education in the state of Arkansas. 

 

4. Department of the Military, Arkansas National Guard (Bryan Christian) 

a. Arkansas National Guard Tuition Waiver Program, 6 CAR pt. 530 

DESCRIPTION:  The Department of the Military, Arkansas National Guard 

proposes amendments to its Arkansas National Guard Tuition Waiver Program, 6 

CAR pt. 530. 

 

The Arkansas National Guard Tuition Waiver Program (NGTW) provides 

financial support for eligible Arkansas Army and Air National Guard members to 

attend state-supported or certain private institutions of higher education in 

Arkansas tuition-free.  The program now includes postsecondary credential or 

certificate programs, in addition to traditional undergraduate degrees. 

 

Key Changes Made to the Rule: 

1. Expanded Eligibility and Coverage 
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Current Rule: Focused primarily on traditional two and four-year degree 

programs. 

Proposed Rule: Now includes postsecondary credential and certificate programs, 

expanding access to high-skill, high-wage employment training aligned with 

workforce needs.  It also allows access to certain private schools for traditional 

two and four-year degree programs. 

 

2. Institutional Scope Expansion 

Current Rule: Covered only state-supported colleges/universities. 

Proposed Rule: Now includes private institutions and trade schools offering 

postsecondary credentials or certificates that are eligible to receive Title IV 

federal aid and located in Arkansas. 

 

Reasons for Change: 

Primarily to comply with Act 2025, Nos. 14 and 826.  Further, to expand 

availability of the benefit to private institutions and trade schools offering 

postsecondary credentials or certificates that are eligible to receive Title IV 

federal aid and located in Arkansas. 

 

Post Public Comment: 

Following the close of the public comment period, the agency made the 

following change to the proposed rule:  Add to 6 CAR § 530-103(g) “All tuition 

and fees may not be covered at a private institution.” 

 

PUBLIC COMMENT:  A public hearing was held on June 17, 2025.  The 

public comment period closed on July 8, 2025.  The agency indicated that it 

received no public comments during the public comment period.  The agency 

further stated that it received the following comment after the expiration of the 

comment period: 

 

Commentor Name: Andy Goodman 

COMMENTS: Thank you for your efforts to update the Military Department’s 

rules for the National Guard Tuition Waiver program.  If I may, I would like to 

point out that Act 826 did not dictate that private four-year institutions would 

waive all tuition for guardsmen in the program.  Rather, it states that the 

beneficiary may receive a tuition benefit under this section up to an amount equal 

to the amount that the soldier or airman would have received if he or she were 

attending a state supported institution.  In some cases, with this grant, 

guardsmen/women will be able to attend private institutions tuition free.  In some 

cases, they may not.  They will have a guarantee that their tuition benefit will be 

at least the greatest amount offered at a state college.  Item (a) under the 

‘Entitlements’ section will need to be changed, so that it does not guarantee a full 

tuition waiver at private institutions.”  RESPONSE: The Agency’s response was 

to add to 6 CAR § 530-103(g) “All tuition and fees may not be covered at a 

private institution.” 

 

Jason Kearney, an attorney with the Bureau of Legislative Research, asked the 

following question and was provided with the following agency response: 

 

1) Does the agency expect the language brought up in its public comment to be 

an issue, and is the agency comfortable that the “tuition-free” language in 6 CAR 
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§ 530-103(a) is in harmony with Acts 14 and 826 of 2025?  RESPONSE: [We] 

do not anticipate that being an issue. We are in complete harmony with the Acts 

referenced. 

 

The proposed effective date is August 15, 2025. 

 

FINANCIAL IMPACT:  The agency has indicated that the amended rule does 

not have a financial impact. 

 

LEGAL AUTHORIZATION:  The Adjutant General, in coordination with the 

Division of Higher Education, shall promulgate rules for the implementation of 

Arkansas Code Annotated § 6-60-214, which concerns tuition benefits for 

soldiers and airmen of the Arkansas National Guard, including without limitation 

rules for the eligibility of soldiers and airmen. See Ark. Code Ann. § 6-60-

214(h)(1).  Further authority for the rulemaking can be found in Ark. Code Ann. 

§ 6-60-211(b)(1), which provides that the Adjutant General of Arkansas shall 

establish and publish rules for the eligibility and implementation of tuition 

assistance programs sponsored by the armed services. 

 

The proposed amendments include those made in light of the following Acts 

from the 2025 Regular Session: 

 

Act 14, sponsored by Representative David Ray, which amended the law 

regarding tuition waivers for Arkansas National Guard soldiers and airmen to 

include programs of studies leading to a postsecondary certificate or credential; 

and 

 

Act 826, sponsored by Representative Keith Brooks, which amended the law 

concerning tuition benefits for soldiers and airmen of the Arkansas National 

Guard and provided eligibility for a tuition benefit to soldiers and airmen 

attending certain private two-year and four-year colleges and universities. 

 

F. Agency Updates on the Status of Outstanding Rulemaking from the 2023 Regular Session 

Pursuant to Act 595 of 20212 

1. Department of Commerce, Arkansas Economic Development Commission (Jake 

Windley) 

Rules Outstanding as of August 1, 2025, as Reported and Updated by the Agency 

• Consolidated Incentive Act Rules (Act 834 of 2023) 

o The Arkansas Economic Development Commission is reviewing whether 

changes are necessary to the Consolidated Incentive Act rule based on 

Act 834 of 2023 and two incentives adopted during the 2025 General 

Session, specifically the Corporate Headquarters Relocation Incentive 

(Act 881) and the Modernization and Automation Incentive (Act 882). 

Since the Consolidated Incentive Act’s rulemaking authority is 

permissive, AEDC is currently reviewing whether the existing rules 

should be amended or repealed in their entirety. Due to the fact that these 

internal discussions are ongoing, no anticipated date for the rule being on 

the subcommittee’s agenda can be provided. 

 
2 Outstanding rules that are on the current agenda for legislative review and approval are designated by an 

asterisk (*). 
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2. Department of Corrections (Tawnie Rowell) 

Rules Outstanding as of August 1, 2025, as Reported and Updated by the Agency 

Secretary of Corrections 

• Visitation (Act 659, § 112 of 2023) 

o This rule will be promulgated by the Secretary of Corrections, who has 

approved it. We have incorporated an amended definition and intend to 

present it for review at the August 2025 board of corrections meeting for 

approval. 

Post-Prison Transfer Board 

• Transfer to Post-Release Supervision (Act 659, § 2 of 2023) 

o This rule is being promulgated by the Post-Prison Transfer Board, a draft 

has been circulated to stakeholders and staff is working to incorporate 

changes from the 2025 legislative session. We anticipate it being 

reviewed by the Post-Prison Transfer Board in September 2025. 

3. Department of Education (Courtney Salas-Ford) 

Rules Outstanding as of August 1, 2025, as Reported and Updated by the Agency 

Arkansas State Library 

• Rules Governing the Standards for State Aid to Public Libraries (Act 

566, § 11 of 2023) 

o Rulemaking regarding Act 566 of 2023 is temporarily suspended due to 

the passage of Act 903 of 2025.  The agency anticipates rulemaking to 

occur following the appointment of a new slate of library board 

members. 

Division of Career and Technical Education 

• Rules Governing the Approval of Computer Science-Related Career and 

Technical Education Course (Act 654, § 4 of 2023) 

o This rule is being redrafted in compliance with the Code of Arkansas 

Rules.  It is anticipated that the final rule will be submitted for ALC 

review in November. 

• Rules Governing the Vocational Start-Up Grant Program (Act 867, § 7 

of 2023) 

o This rule is being redrafted in compliance with the Code of Arkansas 

Rules.  It is anticipated that the final rule will be submitted for ALC 

review in November. 

Division of Elementary and Secondary Education 

• *Rules Governing the Child Sexual Abuse and Human Trafficking 

Prevention Program (Act 237, § 16 of 2023) 

o This rule has been approved by the State Board of Education on June 12, 

2025, and has been submitted for ALC review in August. 

• Rules Governing School District Waivers (Act 347, § 1 of 2023) 

o The agency is redrafting this rule due to the enactment of Act 304 of 

2025.  The rule will be a top priority for the current round of rulemaking.  

With a final rule anticipated in November. 

• Rules Governing Grading and Course Credit (Act 654, §§ 2, 4 of 2023) 

o This rule has been released by the State Board of Education to be 

released for a public comment; however, the agency is redrafting this rule 

due to the enactment of Act 341 of 2025.  The rule will be a top priority 

for the current round of rulemaking with a final rule anticipated in 

November. 
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State Board of Education 

• Rules Governing the Course Choice Program (Act 237, § 20 of 2023) 

o The agency is redrafting this rule due to the enactment of Act 730 of 

2025.  The rule will be a top priority for the current round of rulemaking 

with a final rule anticipated in November. 

• Rules Governing Public Charter Schools (Act 237, § 49 of 2023) 

o The agency is redrafting this rule due to the enactment of Act 800 of 

2025.  The rule will be a top priority for the current round of rulemaking 

with a final rule anticipated in November. 

Division of Higher Education 

• Rules Governing Universal Academic Credit (Act 237, § 54 of 2023) 

o The agency is redrafting this rule due to the enactment of Act 341 of 

2025.  The rule will be a top priority for the current round of rulemaking 

with a final rule anticipated in November. 

 

G. Adjournment 


