ARKANSAS SENATE 95th General Assembly - Regular Session, 2025 Amendment Form

Subtitle of House Bill 1597 TO AMEND THE LAW CONCERNING THE ADMINISTRATION OF THE OATH OF OFFICE.

Amendment No. 1 to House Bill 1597

Amend House Bill 1597 as originally introduced:

Delete everything after the enacting clause, and substitute the following:
 "SECTION 1. Arkansas Code § 14-42-106(b), concerning oaths required
for elected or appointed municipal officers, is amended to read as follows:
 (b)(1) Except as provided in subdivision (b)(2) of this section, the
officers shall take their oaths before:

(A) The Secretary of State or his or her official

designee;

(B) A justice or judge; of the:

(i) Supreme Court;

(ii) Court of Appeals;

(iii) Circuit court, including any former circuit or

chancery judge who served for at least four (4) years; or

(iv) District court, including any former municipal

or district judge who served for at least four (4) years;

- (C) A judge of the county court;
- (D) <u>A federal justice or judge of the:</u>

(i) United States Supreme Court;

(ii) United States Court of Appeals; or

(iii) United States District Court;

- (E) A clerk of the:
 - (i) County court;
 - (ii) Circuit court; or



CEB228 - 03-11-2025 06:04:37

(iii) City of the first class;

(E)(F) A recorder of:

- (i) A city of the second class; or
- (ii) An incorporated town; or

(F)(G) A justice of the peace.

(2) The council members also may take their oaths before the mayor of the municipality.

SECTION 2. Arkansas Code § 21-2-105(a), concerning who may administer an oath of office, is amended to read as follows:

(a)(1) The Governor shall take the oath of office before:

(A) A justice or judge of the:

- (i) Supreme Court;
- (ii) Court of Appeals;
- (iii) Circuit court; or
- (iv) District court;
- (B) <u>A federal justice or judge of the:</u>
 - (i) United States Supreme Court;
 - (ii) United States Court of Appeals; or
 - (iii) United States District Court;
- (C) The county clerk; or

(C)(D) The clerk of the circuit court.

(2) The justices of the Supreme Court, judges of the Court of

Appeals, judges of the circuit courts, judges of the district court, Secretary of State, Treasurer of State, and Auditor of State shall take their oaths before:

- (A) The Governor;
- (B) A justice or judge of the:
 - (i) Supreme Court;
 - (ii) Court of Appeals;
 - (iii) Circuit court, including any former circuit or

chancery judge who served for at least four (4) years; or

(iv) District court, including any former municipal

or district judge who served for at least four (4) years;

(C) <u>A federal justice or judge of the:</u>

(i) United States Supreme Court;

(ii) United States Court of Appeals; or (iii) United States District Court; (D) The clerk of the county court; or (D)(E) The clerk of the circuit court. (3) All other officers, both civil and military, shall take their oaths before: (A) The Secretary of State or his or her official designee; (B) A justice or judge of the: (i) Supreme Court; (ii) Court of Appeals; (iii) Circuit court, including any former circuit or chancery judge who served for at least four (4) years; (iv) District court, including any former municipal or district judge who served for at least four (4) years; or (v) County court; (C) A federal justice or judge of the: (i) United States Supreme Court; (ii) United States Court of Appeals; or (iii) United States District Court; (D) The clerk of the county court; (D)(E) The clerk of the circuit court; (E) (F) A justice of the peace; (F)(G) A clerk of a city of the first class; or (G)(H) A recorder of a city of the second class or incorporated town."

 The Amendment was read the first time, rules suspended and read the second time and

 By: Senator A. Clark

 CEB/CEB - 03-11-2025 06:04:37

 CEB228

 Secretary